Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

4.5 days in Munich, is this good itinerary?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 1st, 2017, 07:48 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi, i will be in Munich from Salzburg on the 21st February with my wife

and staying in Munich until 26th and fly back home, this is my first time in Germany, and with 4 full days, we are not into Beers ( although for the sake of the Bavarian tradition, we might drink a glass or two at most, we are also not into Museum and Trekking )

We love picturesque Old town , strolling the old town, shopping, buying souvenirs and eating and sightseeing, anything that is not tiring, ( yes we are a lazy couple, and just want to relax ) here is what i have in mind:

since on the 21st, i will only have half a day ( i plan to arrive early from Salzburg ), i will spend the rest of the evening exploring Marienplatz and do some light shopping and trying out German food.

on the 22nd, i plan to visit Rothenburg for a full day ( also visiting the town and around )

on 23rd, instead of the Neuschwanstein, i am thinking of going to Burghausen to see the Castle instead ( for me, this is the real deal of authentic Fortress ), maybe spend the day there and return to Munich for the evening.

24 and 25, i plan to just stay in Munich and maybe Dachau Camp in between.. i want to explore the city and just eat and eat and eat, so is there any recommendation for authentic local food and also cheap?

that said, i will only have 2 side trip to Rothenburg and Burghausen, is this ok for a first timer in Germany?

should i sub Burghausen and Rothenburg for any place?

Thank you
W
Old Feb 1st, 2017, 08:38 PM

Have you considered visiting Augsburg? It's not far from Munich by train and has a well preserved old city center.
Old Feb 1st, 2017, 09:04 PM
Original Poster

Hi Frencharmoire,