26 Days France, Alps, Prague, Budapest

Search

Search this Thread

Old Nov 12th, 2015, 01:22 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have been scouring forums for a few months and I figured I would call on the almighty forums for opinions, assistance or just laughter. I know enough to not jam my itinerary full but man it’s hard not to when there is so much to see.

Whats our agenda?
Keeping the itinerary fairly loose for misadventure. We enjoy decadence in most things and tourists traps make me feel like I’m wasting my time. Save big natural ones like the Matterhorn or a historic theater where you are watching an opera.

Dec25 We arrive in Paris after a 10 hour flight at 8am and enjoy the jet lag with mimosas and general zombie wondering in Montmartre. This week is the easy part of the trip. See the sights drink lots of wine enjoy Paris.

January 1st After the Fireworks we head east or do we?
This is where you come in. Heading to Prague for symphonies and ballet is a must! I’m also madly curious about Budapest and my partner would love to enjoy a death defying romantic train ride through the alps.

Last week or so = More wine and relax in the country somewhere
Then head back to France for more wine in the country or back in Paris. A leisurely last week of drinking and being as relaxed as possible.

How to tackle the nest of decadence and wonder that is Prague, Budapest and Swiss alps without spending most of it just traveling a lot is a mystery.

Flying to Prague or Budapest is a no brainer. Although, heading to Lyon or Chamonix for a day and then entering Switzerland has some appeal.

I just can’t find how I would get to the better parts of the alps without spending 13 or more hours to get there. I guess what it boils down to is possibly cutting Swiss alps out. It’s a long train ride and it appears to be somewhat out of the way being in the lower south east part of Switzerland.