17 Nights from Milan to Rome

May 26th, 2019, 10:00 AM
Original Poster

17 Nights from Milan to Rome

We are flying from South Africa for our first trip to Italy. We have been to other places in Europe and like food, strolling around, people watching and a glass of wine. We don't rush things.

We will be travelling via train and buses, I don't want to drive.

I won't have jet lag as we are in the same time zone.

I studied law and part of our studies were Latin and Roman Law so we did a lot of Roman history.

I am turning 50 on 12 October but don't want to really plan my vacation around the day, I see the whole holiday as my holiday celebrations. I am turning 50 in Cinque Terre with my current plan and that seems great to me.

Our rough itinerary is:

3-Oct-09 Leave Cape Town
4-Oct-09 (Land 6:00AM) Milan (Full day)
5-Oct-09 Milan to Venice
6-Oct-09 Venice
7-Oct-09 Venice to Florence
8-Oct-09 Florence
9-Oct-09 Florence
10-Oct-09 Florence to Cinque Terre
11-Oct-09 Cinque Terre
12-Oct-09 Cinque Terre to San Gimignano
13-Oct-09 San Gimignano to Siena
14-Oct-09 Siena
15-Oct-09 Siena to Positano
16-Oct-09 Positano
17-Oct-09 Positano
18-Oct-09 Positano to Rome
19-Oct-09 Rome
20-Oct-09 Rome
21-Oct-09 Rome Fly 23:50 from Rome
22-Oct-09 Cape Town

Any suggestions or ideas.? Longer in Venice? Cut a place at the coast or do other places in Tuscany? Weather wise I am not sure what to expect at the Amalfi Coast in mid-October.
May 26th, 2019, 10:31 AM

Great plan! Weather deteriorating in late October so could be wet but not cold - walking trails could be muddy. Trains are great - and buying long-distance trains early could mean a sweet discounted fare as opposed to full fare. www.trenitalia.com and www.italotreno.com - 2 competing rail systems usin same trcks and stations. Check both and www.seat61.com has sage tips on helping you book your own discounted tickets online - general info - BETS-European Rail Experts and www.ricksteves.com.