Search

Caneel or Maroma

Search this Thread

Old Sep 11th, 2004, 07:41 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Caneel or Maroma

Hi -

Trying to decide between Caneel Bay (St. John) or Maroma Hotel (Playa del Carmen) for our November honeymoon. They both look to have gorgeous beaches, some activities, nice rooms (although the Maroma rooms seem a little nicer from what I hear), and access to "town" for dinners. We're not big bar people, so nightlife beyond maybe dinner and some music is not a big deal to us. The price between the two places doesn't seem that different, so that's not the deciding factor.

Doesn't seem like we could go wrong with either place, but would like your opinions please. Thanks!
Old Sep 11th, 2004, 10:43 PM

I have had no experience with Maroma, but I love Caneel. Because of the expansiveness of its beautiful grounds, with its rooms spread about in various locations, along with its gorgeous white sand beaches and multi-blue hue crystal calm waters, it is a very romantic location and a perfect honeymoon spot. The beaches and grounds are private and uncrowded with loungechairs and hammocks spread out. They are not in row upon row formations.

There is three restaurants with very good food and small different Caribbean bands play music nightly by an intimate torchlit dancefloor.

The resort offers a variety of activities and daytrips. In addition, the island of St. John is beautiful and natural. Close by Cruz Bay is a small safely walkable town that offers uncrowded shopping and other dining opportunities.

Hope this helps. Best wishes to you both.
Old Sep 12th, 2004, 08:43 AM

Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Caneel.
Old Sep 12th, 2004, 04:24 PM