OZ and NZ honeymoon itinerary AUGUST

Jan 17th, 2006, 09:20 AM
Original Poster

OZ and NZ honeymoon itinerary AUGUST

Hello,
I am new to this and I could use some help! My fiance and I are planning our 15 day honeymoon for this August. We are planning to go to New Zealand and Australia as they are both places we have always wanted to go. Here is our itinerary so far. Please let me know what you think!
2 nights in Auckland
2 nights in Wellington
4 nights in Sydney
4 nights on Hayman Island
3 nights in Cairns
We would also love to know some "must-see" sites and things to do. We are interested in sightseeing, culture, adventure and nightlife.
Many thanks!
Jan 17th, 2006, 10:01 AM

Remember that you lose almost a whole day travelling between the countries. I would consider sticking to one country only.

Also Auckland and Wellington (while nice and lots of fun) are not the highlights of NZ - especially not in winter.

Consider a Queenstown - Sydney flight.

i.e.
Fly to Auckland - maybe one night to recover
Fly to Queenstown - 3/4 nights - go on a day trip to Milford Sound if it is open (avalanche hazard). Might want to do some skiing.
Good sights, nightlife and scenery.
Although it is winter so you will need to plan accordingly.

Fly to Oz (3 hours difference). Check that these flight are available - I think they run for the ski season.

Some one else should be able to help with Oz.

The South Island is what makes NZ different Ak and Well are just another city. (I'm from Wellington and it pains me to say it.)

I spent most of my honeymoon in Queenstown during the summer a few years ago. It is touristy but I just love the place. Sitting drinking wine looking at the remarkables.

PS Good luck for the wedding!
Jan 17th, 2006, 10:35 AM