Search

Gold Coast Area

Search this Thread

Old Dec 16th, 2003, 10:04 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Gold Coast Area

Any suggestions for accommodations in the Gold Coast area? We will be arriving in Brisbane on Jan 10 2004 and will be in the area 7 days. Would like a central location (Noosa?) to explore from. Also, any special "tours" suggested?
Old Dec 16th, 2003, 10:41 AM
Original Poster

Also need info on the Sunshine Coast....
Old Dec 16th, 2003, 02:14 PM

Hi, dobie45!

Will you have a car? One of our "regulars" on this site, Janese, will tell you all about a B&B at nearby Mt Tambourine -- in my opinion, a MUCH nicer idea than the Gold Coast, where there are hundreds of hotels and motels, all equally characterless (which could well sum up the Gold Coast). At least, prices are pretty low along the highway -- and righly so!
Old Dec 16th, 2003, 03:21 PM

I'm by no means an expert - we'll be making our first visit to that area in April. I think that Noosa would be considered the Sunshine Coast, not the Gold Coast. It's north of Brisbane, whereas the Gold Coast is south. We're dividing our time between Noosa and Byron Bay (which is south of the Gold Coast, I believe).
Old Dec 17th, 2003, 05:19 AM
Original Poster

You're right - I meant the Sunshine Coast. We plan to stay in/near Noosa. Does Janese have any good suggestions? We probably will rent a car for a day or two and would like to stay near the beach - A 3*-4* would be acceptable. We'll be winding down and would like a day or two of R&R before heading back to the rat race.
Old Dec 17th, 2003, 12:42 PM
Janese

Personally I don't like Noosa - I was there last week visiting a friend and the beach was dreadful, slimy green algae, seaweed and murky. It regularly gets washed away and is not much of a beach at the best of times. Parking in Noosa is disgusting and all in all I can think of 100 better and cheaper places to stay than there.