first time in OZ solo sydney stay during may

Old Feb 2nd, 2008, 08:10 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
first time in OZ solo sydney stay during may

it's my first time in OZ, i'm traveling solo and attending a conference at the convention center in darling island in sydney on the 7-10 may. i was thinking on arriving on the 1st or 2nd of may to adjust and enjoy the city and maybe stay @ a B&B or rent a serviced aprtment close by darling harbour? do you guys think 8 nights total in sydney and then maybe 4 in tasmania? or maybe around the 11 of may TAZ would be too cold? originally i was planning to go to NZs SI to walk queen charlotte's track in picton for new year's january 2009, but now as long as i'm traveling to OZ, i'm trying to juggle and would have to arrive mid april, and then go on to OZ for conference so NZ 2 weeks and on to OZ 8 days? thanks in advance for any suggestions... jjjj
Old Feb 2nd, 2008, 08:51 PM

Darling Harbour is a bit of a tourist trap, why not stay somewhere within easy walking distance of the conference--Grace Hotel in the CBD often has good deals. You could also get a ferry from Circular Quay to Darling Harbour which is a nice way to start the day.

Alternatively, you could explore another part of the city before the conference starts: Darlinghurst, Surry Hills, Paddington and Potts Point are the areas with plenty of restaurants, pubs and cafes.

Old Feb 2nd, 2008, 09:01 PM
Original Poster

thanks susan... i love to walk around, so at first i was thinking of the covenience of being close to the conference, but i think you are right. i'm open to all the suggestions possible so i will explore the grace, i was just checking chelsea guesthouse in darlinghurst a while ago. i hate tourist traps. i like to get to "feel" a new city as close as a native as possible... thankx again
Old Feb 2nd, 2008, 11:55 PM