Rajasthan - 9 days

Old Feb 3rd, 2007, 08:03 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rajasthan - 9 days

I am arriving in Delhi (from London) on March 31 and departing Delhi (for Goa) on April 8. I am looking to tour Rajasthan for those 8 or 9 days and am looking for advice on itinerary, how to get around (train vs. hired car and driver) and accommodation. This is my first time in India. I would appreciate any advice anyone can offer.
Old Feb 4th, 2007, 03:29 AM

NAMASTE, We just came back from Rajasthan you can travel according to this route.
day 1 : Delhi
day 2 : Delhi - Agra
day 3 : Agra - pushkar
day 4 : pushkar - Udaipur
day 5 : Udaipur
day 6 : Udaipur - ranakpur - Jodhpur
day 7 : Jodhpur - Jaipur
day 8 : Jaipur
day 9 : jaipur - Delhi

You can Hire a car and discover a beautiful India.
Old Feb 4th, 2007, 05:43 AM

Are u also interested in seeing the Taj Mahal at Agra? A typical itinerary is Delhi-Agra-Jaipur-Udaipur-Goa. From Del to Agra there is a fast train but it leaves very early in the morning and is not necessarily conducive to an overnight trip. What many people do is use a TA for a good car-driver, depart Delhi for Agra then Jaipur with the car-driver, Jaipur-Udaipur by flight.
Old Feb 4th, 2007, 09:11 PM

As this is your first visit to India, I am sure you would like to see:
a. the Taj at Agra. After staying & s/s in Delhi - 2 nights- you may leave for Agra & visit the Taj early next morning. Drive further on to Jaipur, via Fatehpur Sikri, for two nights.
b. Ideally you should fly from Udaipur to Mumbai on your way to Goa. As this is not your plan you may fly back from Udaipur to Delhi, after two nights stay at say Sardargarh which gives you the oppurtunity of seeing rural Rajasthan at its colourful best & Udaipur.
c. If you decide to stay at Sardargarh, you can also visit the Ranakpur Jain temples on your way to Udaipur, though it will entail a travel of 118 miles, definitely worth it.