question about BKK hotel

Search

question about BKK hotel

Search this Thread

Old Nov 17th, 2005, 07:37 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
question about BKK hotel

Hi, all. I'm new to this message board. I've been looking at asia.com and your messages about choosing a hotel in Bangkok on the river for first timers. My husband and I are traveling to Thailand in March and I was wondering if anyone knew about the Menam Riverside Hotel. We want to spend around $100 per night and this place looks nice. Do you have any other suggestions? We're very excited. Thanks, Sharon
Old Nov 17th, 2005, 08:08 PM

I think for $100.00/night and in March, you can do much better than the Menam Riverside. On the river, the Bangkok Marriott Resort and Spa is a favorite here (though I've never stayed there), and I'll bet you can get it for around $100.00, maybe a bit more. There is a new Hilton opening up on the river, just up from the Peninsula, the Millenium Hilton. I'll bet their opening rates will be good, They are online at sawadee.com, but not at hilton.com yet. There is also the Ibrik on the river, which looks lovely...small and personal.

If $100.00 is your absolute limit, you might find better value away from the river. You might start your search by browsing listings at sawadee.com and reading some of the reviews. asiahotels.com also has listings and reviews.

When searching out the best price, do explore all of your booking options, including booking directly with the hotel. sawadee.com and the r24.com bookings sites (all the same) referenced over and over on this board, are very good. asiahotels.com and precisionreservations.com are also liked by many. I'd look at all of those sites, plus the hotel's own pages, plus send an e-mail to the hotel about rates and packages they might be offering for your time.