Jaisalmer hotels

Old Mar 26th, 2007, 11:29 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Jaisalmer hotels

I am a travel agent in Australia and am planning a trip for a friend and her husband next year to celebrate her 50th birthday. I travelled to Rajasthan late last year but not to Jaisalmer- suggested hotel is Fort Rajwada, all the brochures seem to have it as best hotel but I looked up reviews and not all are great. Any comments would be appreciated.
Old Mar 27th, 2007, 03:39 AM

Here are some of th hotels I know of -

-Hotel Deoki Niwas Palace
- Hotel Gorbandh Palace
- Hotel Rang Mahal - Heritage property
- Hotel Mandir Palace

I hope this was of help.

Bhavika
http://fractalenlightenment.blogspot.com/
Old Mar 27th, 2007, 09:10 PM
Original Poster

Bhavika,

many thanks for your suggestions- I will check them out.
Old Mar 27th, 2007, 10:18 PM

Fort Rajwada is indeed a nice property, followed by Gorbandh,Rang Mahal & Heritage inn. Killa Bhawan is a small property with tastefully decorated rooms on Fort ramparts. The views from the rooms are good. It is being run by a French. Rawal Kot is a Taj hotel, with fine views of the fort. Some of the rooms on the top floor are very nice in comparison to those which are in the basement. However, it is far away from the city centre.
The problem with some of the fine properties which are not managed by renowned hotel groups is that the services are less professionally managed. The boys will bend backwards to please you, but do not have formal training in management.
Best Wishes!
Old Mar 27th, 2007, 10:58 PM

I stayed at Fort Rajwada and really liked it. The rooms with a view of the fort are great. As the last poster said it is not in the fort. But of the hotels in the area I think it is hard to go wrong here.

If i were to go back I would like to stay in the fort complex -- definetly a step down, but would be an interesting experience.
Old Mar 28th, 2007, 10:06 PM
Original Poster