Golden Week in Tokyo

Search

Golden Week in Tokyo

Search this Thread

Old Oct 2nd, 2018, 11:29 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Golden Week in Tokyo

I will be in Japan the first two weeks of May and will have the first four nights on my own in Tokyo. I have a hotel booked in Ginza. Airline tickets paid, tour paid, so no changing dates, nor do I want to. I realize Golden Week is when people take vacation and office buildings are closed. Will museums be closed? Will department stores be closed? The Government Building where there are views of the city? Do restaurants close? I believe the fish market will be closed that week. I plan to visit shrines and enjoy using my camera around the city. I also want to sign up for some day tours and I hope they will be operating during the days I will be alone. This is my first time in Japan. Would appreciate advice on what to expect specifically with Tokyo closures.

Years ago I was in Amsterdam over Queens Day and was not deterred by things being closed. No public transportation at all. Yet, I had a great time. So I'm hoping Golden Week offers a similar experience.
Old Oct 3rd, 2018, 12:38 PM

I was once in Tokyo during Golden Week and didn't even realize it! But, here are a few posts that might help:

https://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2282.html
https://www.japan-guide.com/forum/qu....html?0+101552
https://www.japan-guide.com/forum/qu....html?0+162124
Old Oct 3rd, 2018, 04:17 PM

My experience is that most big businesses operate as usual, but smaller, private or family run shops and restaurants may close for the holiday period. There could be some inconvenience, but it shouldn’t be a major issue for visitors.
Old Oct 3rd, 2018, 09:58 PM
Original Poster

Thank you for your posts. I found a trip report written by someone who was in Tokyo this year during Golden Week and it looks like many of things I want to do will be open. So much to see and so little time.
Old Oct 10th, 2018, 09:35 PM