Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Asia
Reload this Page >

Booked Tokyo over Golden Week. Hotel questions.

Apr 7th, 2018, 10:31 AM
Original Poster

I just booked a two-week tour that starts in Tokyo on May 4, 2019. Learned about Golden Week after booking the tour. Cannot switch tour dates as all spaces are filled (for solo spots). I thought May would be a pretty month. I will be in Tokyo May 1-5, smack in the middle of Golden Week. How bad a mistake did I make? I booked a room as I read accommodations can be difficult to get during Golden Week. Many hotels show no vacancies over those dates. Can so many hotels already be booked due to the holiday or could it be because I'm booking so far out? I booked the Mercure Hotel Ginza Tokyo for three nights on my own before the tour starts. And one night in a hotel in Shinjuku with the tour. Would prefer to book same hotel as the tour, but no vacancy. This is my first time to Japan. I am traveling solo. This senior would appreciate input. Thanks.
Diane
Apr 7th, 2018, 12:33 PM
kja

Here's some info:
https://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2282.html

My advice would be to identify your priorities for the time you have during Golden Week, make sure you have some back up plans (which should be easy, as Tokyo has a lot to offer), and recognize the benefits of remaining as flexible as you can.

If you haven't already done so, spend plenty of time with japan-guide.com -- it isn't perfect, but it definitely provides a LOT of great info!
Apr 7th, 2018, 05:48 PM

We stayed in Tokyo during Golden Week in 2016. You shouldn't worry.
In fact, there might be some fun festivals going on. We stayed out in Odaiba and there was an "Octoberfest" in May with 25 beer vendors, food, and music. The next night was a "Niku (meat) Fest" with about 50 vendors, crowded but well organized.
Your hotel in Ginza is well located for transport. My advice is to get a train card, Suica or Pasmo put $50 on it and check out the sights you want to see.