Search

16 nights in China

Search this Thread

Old Jul 29th, 2007, 06:40 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
16 nights in China

Greetings!

My fiance and I will be flying into Shanghai on September 16 and returning to the U.S. on October 2. we have never been to china. I am a museum studies/art history professor and my fiance is an interactive designer - needless to say, we crave "culture." Think local customs, few crowds, beautiful landscapes, amazing sites...the "real" china.

Any suggestions? Obviously, we will spend a couple of days in Shanghai and a few in Bejing, but we want the rest to be much quieter!

Thanks,
Bobbie
Old Jul 30th, 2007, 03:46 AM

If you like the ideaof landscapes you might consider taking one of the horse treksout of Songpan. It was one of the highlights of my last visit.

http://www.travelsinasia.com/China/China.htm
Old Jul 30th, 2007, 04:32 AM

Not really much in Shanghai for tourists but there is a good museum. Apart from Xian, much of what is worth seeing as a tourist is in and around Beijing.

If you want to see the real China, go by rail or coach as you don't see much from six miles up. However, rail is rather slow and the country very large.

Invest in a good guide book (I always use Lonely Planet which is more down to earth) and good maps.
Old Jul 30th, 2007, 07:05 AM

I'm afraid you won't find much quiet, wherever you choose to go. Quieter is realistic, as it is a relative term! For the most part, China is not that kind of country. Though I'm sure that you'll come away satisfied.