Which airlines jfk to japan?

May 10th, 2018, 03:03 PM
Original Poster

Which airlines jfk to japan?

Have not too many Flying Blue points and no others since I wiped out my Amex points with upcoming business trip to Italy for two.

Looking for "best" airline for NYC airport to Japan, in best case to Tokyo.

Any standouts for business class that do not involve annoying layovers? Any tips for snagging decent price, for late 2018? Stopover in interesting city is ok...Taipei?? Have taken KoreanAir several times and would hope to find something with all around better service and food.

KAL seem to serve the same meals from year to year and very stingy (not to mention serving all wines at room temp) with the wine. Is this just me or do others have that impression from KAL?? I love the upstairs seating but I've heard such great reports about Asian airlines and I am not sure Korean Air falls into the category of "greats??"

I am a total novice with this so any tips will be very welcome.
May 11th, 2018, 09:32 AM

Korean Air is just okay. If the price is right, I wouldn’t avoid them, but they are just okay in business class. Their coach product is quite good though. Asiana is also worth a look via Seoul - their seat is quite good.

At first blush, I’d say ANA would be the best choice, followed by JAL. Both are decent products and you get the nonstop. Depending when you go, you might also consider Delta if you can route via DTW and get on the A350, which offers a small “suite” in business class. China Airlines and Eva both offer decent products via Taipei.
May 11th, 2018, 09:38 AM

Lots of people love ANA. But I found their Biz class seats uncomfortable, and the seat arrangement means it is impossible to talk with someone with whom you are traveling. I also thought the food was poor. Singapore Air is excellent, of course, but non non-stop.
May 11th, 2018, 11:16 AM

Originally Posted by ekscrunchy View Post