Search

Stand Bye

Search this Thread

Old Mar 25th, 2008, 11:15 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Stand Bye

Hi,

I'm a standby newbie..booked on a pm flight and would like to take the am flight..there are only two. Any suggestions would be most welcome..anything to get out of this midwest weather a little earlier!

Thanks,

Lucci
Old Mar 25th, 2008, 11:21 AM

You need to tell us what airline. Each has its own rules.
Old Mar 25th, 2008, 11:30 AM

What airline?

Most airlines will allow same day standby for no charge as long as there are seats available.

Some airlines also have an option for "confirmed" standby. AA charges $25 per. That way you are assured a seat on an earlier flight so there is no chance of you sitting around the airport if the earlier flights did not work with the free standby option. I believe you can confirm any flight, same routing, within 12 hours of your booked flight as long as it's the same day.

Don't know about other airlines, but I suspect they may offer the same options.

Free if you are willing to take that chance and just showe up or a small fee over the phone to confirm earlier/later flight.
Old Mar 25th, 2008, 05:02 PM
Original Poster

Thanks for the info. I am flying AA leaving from Chgo. Paying the $25 sounds good if available because one flight leaves at 9A the other 7P. Do you suggest that I phone AA for that service? Do I understand correctly that if the flight leaves 9A on Friday I phone on Thursday at 9P? Is it best to have carry-on? And, if I just want to chance it--call AA in advance and check the load?

Thanks again,

Lucci
Old Mar 25th, 2008, 05:55 PM
J62