New Orleans Restaurants

Advertisement

Acme Oyster House

Chargrilled Oyster

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Acme Oyster House Review

A rough-edge classic in every way, this no-nonsense eatery at the entrance to the French Quarter is a prime source for cool and salty raw Gulf oysters; legendary shrimp, oyster, and roast-beef po'boys; and tender, expertly seasoned red beans and rice. Even locals can't resist, although most opt for the less crowded, if less charming, suburban branches (there's one in Metairie). Expect lengthy lines here in the French Quarter, often a half-block long—trust us, though, it's worth it. Crowds lighten in the late afternoon, making Acme a perfect respite for a mid-afternoon snack of a dozen on the half shell washed down with an Abita beer.

    Restaurant Details

  • Reservations not accepted
  • Credit cards accepted.
Updated: 04-09-2014

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Horrible experience with Manager

    This restaurant was recommended to me and so on Saturday (July 21, 2007) I went to dinner with my group. We totaled 8. The address is 724 Iberville St. The host was nice and we ate pretty well. Once we paid we were planning on going to Bourbon Street and it started to rain horribly. We thought we would have drinks at the bar inside the restaurant and the manager rudely told us we were taking up space and if we were not going to eat at the bar we could not just order drinks. We explained we had just eaten there and since it was raining we thought of having a drink. He said NO. So we stood by the door and he came after us and told us we had to leave the restaurant immediately. We asked if we could just stay until the rain stopped and he told us that if we wanted to we could walk to the next door garage but we must leave. We could not believe that with the rain he was just kicking us out. After all we had consumed over $150.00 five minutes prior. My father said he would leave once the rain stopped and so he called the police officer to kick us out. This experience was terrible. I could not believe he was the manager. He was so rude. Although the food was not bad, my managers attitude was unacceptable and in order to continue having some type of good reputation I believe management needs to be changed.

    by ljzg717, 7/25/07
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Love It!

    Love this place. No-frills atmosphere with friendly waitstaff, and awesome food! Lines get long early so be prepared to eat at an off time or wait in line.

    by gymrat1717, 9/26/07
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Just OK

    Thought it was going to be good. Turned out to be run kind of like a fridays. Not real professional and food was nothing great. After waiting in line I thought it had to be good, wrong!!! It wasn't terrible just average like a nice applebee's or something. Expected a better experience.

    by atlantatravler11, 4/22/08
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Ate lunch there almost every day!

    This is my kind of food. The soft shell crab are out of sight and the hush puppies, Delicious!!!

    by dlee9336, 6/21/08
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Just what I wanted!

    Went to the French Quarter. Had great Oysters at a great price. Came back the next day. Did it again. Came back on Sunday and did it again. Best value in New Orleans. Don't know why anybody is complaining about this place. It was clean, cheap, and the food was fresh. Best deal in the French Quarter.

    by dcgator, 11/16/08
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Over-rated Food

    ACME is among many other restaurants in French Quarters that are over-rated. You always see a long line formed outside the restaurant that makes you believe that their food must be good. Not so. I have tried three different half shell oysters in FQ and this one is actually rated the lowest. However, the service is good and the price is reasonable. If you don't care for a fresh oyster platter, this can be a quite fit family choice.

    by eli2884, 1/2/09
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Acme is what it is + free entertainment

    The service was better but the food was off a little. The oysters were awesome. 'Broadway is' still shuckin'.

    by SAnParis2, 1/26/09
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Great experience

    Upon arriving into New Orleans we asked the guy at our front desk (the Hampton Inn) for a recommendation close by. He recommended this place, and seriously, we spent the whole rest of the weekend trying to match how good this was. The crawfish boil, pretty simple really, was better than I've ever had. Seriously tasty without being too salty. The gumbo was amazing and my husband LOVED his po boy. We also split a plate of broiled oysters, and there was no trouble accommodating my special dietary requirements. The service was great and we didn't wait at all to be seated. On the other hand, it was in the middle of the afternoon on a Thursday. But then, if you want to eat at a place like this without waiting, go in the middle of the afternoon! I'd eat there again, and I'd definitely (and did!) recommend it to friends.

    by leslietfj, 2/17/09
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Wonderful Oysters and Good, Old Fashioned Cold Beer: What More Do You Need?

    ACME Oyster surpassed my expectations! Phenomenal Oysters, great service at the bar, very prompt. The Restaurant was packed at 11am on a Friday morning and shortly after we were seated a line formed outside. However, you won't mind the wait when you get a taste of the oysters on the half-shell, the red beans and rice, and the gumbo. We ate oysters several time while we were in NoLa and ACME had the best by far. Even though they were serving pitchers of beer to some patrons, it was still very family-friendly when we were there.

    by shormk2, 3/10/09
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Didn't want to ever leave

    Never thought I would ever eat oysters, but they were awesome, want more right now. The service that we received was excellent. Everything that I ate there was good.

    by poohgirl39, 3/29/09
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    My favorite NOLA restaurant!

    The char-grilled oysters are to die for - the best oyster dish anywhere! All their food was great - red beans and rice, jambalaya, sausage and sides. The Cajun Sampler is large and you get to try everything. The stawberry shortcake was also outstanding. The sponge cake was light, loads of whipped cream and strawberries served in a giant beer goblet. Crowds can be heavy. I also ate at the Metairie location and the food was just as good in a larger dining room with no wait.

    by me4meats, 7/6/09
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Great food but noisy

    Have eaten here a few times. Food is great. Great value for the money, which is inexpensive. However, if you're looking for a restaurant atmosphere, look elsewhere. A casual eatery that is very noisy.

    by kurkie1, 9/17/12
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Acme Oyster House!

    Amazing! Get here before the rush on week-ends (lines are common). Full House seating! MOST amazing etoufee! and boo fries, and oysters, and gumbo! Great menu, very friendly staff. Visit the oyster shuckers at the end of the night! ... there are paneled dividers to watch. Only place we went back to twice!

    by Rutcut, 12/27/13

Add your own review

Advertisement

· Map of Acme Oyster House

Map of



Travel Deals
Forums