Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New Orleans Restaurants

Acme Oyster House

  • 724 Iberville St. Map It
  • Seafood
  • Fodor's Choice

Updated 04/09/2014

Fodor's Review

A rough-edge classic in every way, this no-nonsense eatery at the entrance to the French Quarter is a prime source for cool and salty raw Gulf oysters; legendary shrimp, oyster, and roast-beef po'boys; and tender, expertly seasoned red beans and rice. Even locals can't resist, although most opt for the less crowded, if less charming, suburban branches (there's one in Metairie). Expect lengthy lines here in the French Quarter, often a half-block long—trust us, though,

it's worth it. Crowds lighten in the late afternoon, making Acme a perfect respite for a mid-afternoon snack of a dozen on the half shell washed down with an Abita beer.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

724 Iberville St., New Orleans, Louisiana, 70130, United States

Map It

Phone:

504-522–5973

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Reservations not accepted

Updated 04/09/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in New Orleans

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Rutcut

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 27, 2013

Acme Oyster House!

Amazing! Get here before the rush on week-ends (lines are common). Full House seating! MOST amazing etoufee! and boo fries, and oysters, and gumbo! Great menu, very friendly staff. Visit the oyster shuckers at the end of the night! ... there are paneled dividers to watch. Only place we went back to twice!

By kurkie1

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 17, 2012

Great food but noisy

Have eaten here a few times. Food is great. Great value for the money, which is inexpensive. However, if you're looking for a restaurant atmosphere, look elsewhere. A casual eatery that is very noisy.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 6, 2009

My favorite NOLA restaurant!

The char-grilled oysters are to die for - the best oyster dish anywhere! All their food was great - red beans and rice, jambalaya, sausage and sides. The Cajun Sampler is large and you get to try everything. The stawberry shortcake was also outstanding. The sponge cake was light, loads of whipped cream and strawberries served in a giant beer goblet. Crowds can be heavy. I also ate at the Metairie location and the food was just as good in a larger

dining room with no wait.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 29, 2009

Didn't want to ever leave

Never thought I would ever eat oysters, but they were awesome, want more right now. The service that we received was excellent. Everything that I ate there was good.

By shormk2

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 10, 2009

Wonderful Oysters and Good, Old Fashioned Cold Beer: What More Do You Need?

ACME Oyster surpassed my expectations! Phenomenal Oysters, great service at the bar, very prompt. The Restaurant was packed at 11am on a Friday morning and shortly after we were seated a line formed outside. However, you won't mind the wait when you get a taste of the oysters on the half-shell, the red beans and rice, and the gumbo. We ate oysters several time while we were in NoLa and ACME had the best by far. Even though they were serving

pitchers of beer to some patrons, it was still very family-friendly when we were there.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 17, 2009

Great experience

Upon arriving into New Orleans we asked the guy at our front desk (the Hampton Inn) for a recommendation close by. He recommended this place, and seriously, we spent the whole rest of the weekend trying to match how good this was. The crawfish boil, pretty simple really, was better than I've ever had. Seriously tasty without being too salty. The gumbo was amazing and my husband LOVED his po boy. We also split a plate of broiled oysters, and there

was no trouble accommodating my special dietary requirements. The service was great and we didn't wait at all to be seated. On the other hand, it was in the middle of the afternoon on a Thursday. But then, if you want to eat at a place like this without waiting, go in the middle of the afternoon! I'd eat there again, and I'd definitely (and did!) recommend it to friends.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 26, 2009

Acme is what it is + free entertainment

The service was better but the food was off a little. The oysters were awesome. 'Broadway is' still shuckin'.

By eli2884

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 2, 2009

Over-rated Food

ACME is among many other restaurants in French Quarters that are over-rated. You always see a long line formed outside the restaurant that makes you believe that their food must be good. Not so. I have tried three different half shell oysters in FQ and this one is actually rated the lowest. However, the service is good and the price is reasonable. If you don't care for a fresh oyster platter, this can be a quite fit family choice.

By dcgator

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 16, 2008

Just what I wanted!

Went to the French Quarter. Had great Oysters at a great price. Came back the next day. Did it again. Came back on Sunday and did it again. Best value in New Orleans. Don't know why anybody is complaining about this place. It was clean, cheap, and the food was fresh. Best deal in the French Quarter.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 21, 2008

Ate lunch there almost every day!

This is my kind of food. The soft shell crab are out of sight and the hush puppies, Delicious!!!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 22, 2008

Just OK

Thought it was going to be good. Turned out to be run kind of like a fridays. Not real professional and food was nothing great. After waiting in line I thought it had to be good, wrong!!! It wasn't terrible just average like a nice applebee's or something. Expected a better experience.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 26, 2007

Love It!

Love this place. No-frills atmosphere with friendly waitstaff, and awesome food! Lines get long early so be prepared to eat at an off time or wait in line.

By ljzg717

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 25, 2007

Horrible experience with Manager

This restaurant was recommended to me and so on Saturday (July 21, 2007) I went to dinner with my group. We totaled 8. The address is 724 Iberville St. The host was nice and we ate pretty well. Once we paid we were planning on going to Bourbon Street and it started to rain horribly. We thought we would have drinks at the bar inside the restaurant and the manager rudely told us we were taking up space and if we were not going to eat at the bar we could

not just order drinks. We explained we had just eaten there and since it was raining we thought of having a drink. He said NO. So we stood by the door and he came after us and told us we had to leave the restaurant immediately. We asked if we could just stay until the rain stopped and he told us that if we wanted to we could walk to the next door garage but we must leave. We could not believe that with the rain he was just kicking us out. After all we had consumed over $150.00 five minutes prior. My father said he would leave once the rain stopped and so he called the police officer to kick us out. This experience was terrible. I could not believe he was the manager. He was so rude. Although the food was not bad, my managers attitude was unacceptable and in order to continue having some type of good reputation I believe management needs to be changed.

Read More

By Jared

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 17, 2005

Sit at the oyster bar!!

We were there last month and had a great time! The oysters almost melt in your mouth and the shuckers at the oyster bar just kept throwing free ones at us. Just excellent!

By LuF

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 7, 2005

Real town, real restaurants, and fill up on the Oysters

We live near Boston, but frankly, most places downtown here become in due time tourist traps. What impressed me most about NoLa, was that the places felt real, and prices were reasonable (came in June, can't testify about Mardi Gras). When a dozen raw Oyster can be had for $6.99, and a beer for $2.25, you know you are in the right place. Sitting here can be quirky, they actually sat us across a couple where the husband was as drunk as a skunk (at

8 pm), he actually forgot he had ordered at one point. But the Oysters and the beer where fantastic, and the place fun!

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 11, 2005

Best oysters around

Just got back from a trip to NoLa and if you go to Acme, sit at the bar talk to the shuckers and eat, eat, eat. We had the oyster (raw) every day for a week here and we also tried Felixes and others. Not even close. Living on Cape Cod in MA, I have oysters all the time but these are GREAT. The staff also great. Funky place, not fancy but typical N.O. Had Po' boys here too but the main attraction is the raw bar.

By Phillip

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 20, 2005

Metarie Location

We ate at the Metarie location and the food was very good, especially the smoked oysters (they were a 10)! but they were doing a N.O. Hornets call-in show the night we were there so the atmosphere was a little louder than we wanted.

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 20, 2005

Oysters Ahoy

The only place to sit is at the Oyster Bar! Absolutely wonderful.

By Rod

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 4, 2005

This is a must visit if visiting the French Quarter.

This place looks like a dump but don't let that fool you. The oysters and po'boy's great and the price is low. Be prepared for a wait. Sidewalk is lined with people every evening.

By Anthony

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 29, 2004

stay away from acme

We went there the first night in NO. AAA gives it a 1 diamond, I think it should be Minus diamonds. The place is dirty: dust everywhere. The ceiling has paint chips hanging and pieces of the ceiling are coming down. I saw part of the kitchen and it should be closed down by the board of health. I tried to eat my food, but something kept biting at my ankles(hopefully a fly) I don't understand how they are in business!

By Joe

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 2, 2004

Good stuff

Anything oysters is great. Plus good cold beer. What's not to like?

By Kathy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 1, 2004

Long Wait ... Mediocre Food

Being from Southwestern Louisiana, I found the food at Acme to be not so GOOD! Oysters on the half shell were okay. The shrimp po-boy that I ordered was terrible. They use corn meal for frying; I prefer a flour batter. The bread sucked. The atmosphere was fun although the loose electrical wiring hanging from the ceiling was of some concern? Not worth the wait. I wouldn't recommend this place and I ain't going back for seconds!

By Diane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 22, 2004

Afternoon Delight

What do you do after a morning of self-indulgence at the Belladonna Spa? Head to Acme for pure oyster fun. You've got to go in the early afternoon to get right in, otherwise you'll be waiting in line (but that can be fun, too). The ambiance is pure bar, the service is fast and the prices (for the Quarter) are just fine. Best oysters I've had in years. Had 'em two ways, including sushi style (clever idea but didn't add much to the taste) and a

bag of mud bugs (that's "crawdads" to the uninitiated). A Bombay martini and these tasty critters makes for a satifying afternoon "snack." Enjoy!

Read More

By Kim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 12, 2004

Best raw oysters off of Bourbon Street

Just came back from New Orleans in January 2004, and stumbled upon the Acme Oyster House. We must have stopped there at a great time because we were seated right away, and our server was so gracious. The Oysters are $6.99/dozen!!! You can't beat that price. They were succulent, and the tabasco, horse radish, cocktail sauce mix was "to die for." I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone. Beware, this is no upscale seafood restaurant,

but the quality of the food is top notch.

Read More

By Karen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 26, 2003

A good place to eat

My husband says these were the best oysters in NOLA. I'm not a seafood eater, but the jambalaya was outstanding. A nice break from the more elaborate restaurants in town. Prices are great.

By Gary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 11, 2003

You won't get shucked any better

Simply the best fresh oysters in the world. Sit at the oyster bar and have the oysters shucked and served immediately

By Ray

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 3, 2003

Long Wait for Oysters

Our party of six was seated way in the back during a busy lunch hour. All but one of us ordered oysters on the half-shell (the other person had fried oysters, which came right away). After about twenty minutes the waitress stopped by, apologized that the oysters hadn’t arrived yet and said the manager was coming over. The manager arrived several minutes later, also apologized. Well, we finally got our oysters (after about 30 minutes of waiting)

and they were very good. When we got the check, we were only charged for our drinks – all the oysters on the half-shell were on the house!

Read More

By Sue

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 12, 2002

Hooked On Crawfish

Had crawfish before but never cared for it...found it rather tasteless. Walking to our table at Acme Oyster, we noticed that quite a few tables had ordered crawfish and the people seemed to be enjoying it, so we ordered it as well. Absolutely delicious... tasty, fresh, and very juicy. We also had the fried oysters and gumbo. Both are great. Although no one speaks of their side dishes, try the cole-slaw instead of french fries. It's tasty and

refreshing. I ordered crawfish again at another restaurant, but it just didn't compare to Acme's.

Read More

By Denise

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 20, 2002

Mumbo Jumbo Gumbo

My partner stopped by just before the big line up. We were lucky, the place was bloced and we sat at the bar. The air conditioning was on minus Arctic with little rain drops falling on our heads, BUT the food was fabulous, the oysters sublime, and the gumbo's a must. The culinary consultant "Pops" Thomas sauntered out of the kitchen for a little refresher from the bar " a real nice gent". The place needs a little clean up but a must for visitors

to NOLA.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 5, 2002

Acme Red Beans Poopa.....Yummy for my tummy!

We ate at Acme twice during our 4 days visit. One of the times we sat at the Oyster Bar. Very neat! Food is great and the service was wonderful. Red Beans and Rice Poopa is to die for! This is a busy place so get there early. Awesome food for the money! Can't beat it! Highly recommend.

By enrique

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 8, 2002

the mother of all oyster bars

A classic. My recommendation? try a plate of oysters with a side of beans and rice - and don't forget the Dixie beer. Only way to find a table is when they open (11am) or afternoon between lunch and dinner.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 17, 2002

No Nonsense--Oysters Done Right!

Don't expect any fancy stuff here, but the oysters are out of this world!! Sit at the Oyster bar for some real fun and ask the shuckers if you can have some pictures taken with them!

By Arnold

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 17, 2002

Oyster shooters and beer....FUN

The Joint was crowded, the wait was long to get in, the oysters and crawfish were great! It was alot of fun to sit at the oyster bar and talking to the three shuckers while having a nice cold beer and having very tasty crawfish. What was nice the staff seem not to care how long you sat there anddrank and talked. A must visit for first timers to N.O . It was our 6th time to visit!

By annette

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 26, 2002

love this place!

the oyster bar is great and a lot of fun. the oyster po boy, gumbo, red beans and rice, all great. and they have the best jambalaya.

By Sondra

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 4, 2001

It Is What It IS

Acme is not fancy and a great place to grab lunch or dinner when you just want good food. I had a good lunch-catfish po'boy and jambalya. It was good and the atmospherer is fun Enjoy it for what it is!!

By Lili

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 15, 2001

Get in line - all the tourists know about it ;)

It wasn't bad or good, just normal and nothing special ... they did have crawfish in October (which i was told is out of season for the little suckers). The mussels were an average size, the atmosphere was casual and nothing different form any of the other oyster bars in the french quarter - i'd recommend going elsewhere, more off the beaten path.

By lisa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 5, 2001

bring on da oysters!

Acme has the biggest, juiciest, (and cheapest) oysters ever! We went there for lunch twice in four days. The Creole Medley platter is also excellent. Service is very fast and friendly.

By Meg

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 12, 2001

Beware the Oyster Shooter

I just visited NO for the first time and ate at Acme. My boyfriend and I had oysters on the half shell for the first time, they were delicious and the waiters are very helpful and patient. I finished my meal with an oyster shooter, without realizing what I was getting myself into. I did it, but it wasn't pretty. Very fun place.

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 20, 2001

AWESOME OYSTERS!!

They have the freshest and tastiest oysters in town!! Eating at the oyster bar while the oysters are shucked in front of you and you are engaged in conversation with the shucker and your fellow diners provides a unique atmostphere of its own. If you enjoy oysters, this is the place to go!!

By Keith

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 16, 2001

Best Oyster in New Orleans

Fun atmosphere, great prices, the freshest oysters, and super oyster po-boys. Best deal in New Orleans.

By William

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 24, 2000

No Pearl

I gave this restaurant a second chance after not being impressed with the food the first time around. The second time was worse -- awful service, the poboy bread has a soft crust (a hard crust is essential), and the atmosphere is that of a sports bar. Avoid this place.

By Bernard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 9, 2000

See Food

Great seafood, reasonably priced. A break from all the upscale and rich offerings at other resaurants. Had so many oysters, I stopped counting. A fun, down home place that's worth the wait.

By Charles

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 6, 2000

Great Value

Yeah, this one's a keeper. Good prices, good food, comfortable without being TOO touristy.

By Jack

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 10, 2000

When You're Good, You Grow

They just opened up a second location on the North Shore (Boston Street in Covington). Oysters just as good.

By Janice

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 20, 2000

Great place

Spent an afternoon here in Sept 2000. Had a great lunch.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement