Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Los Angeles Restaurants

Gladstone's Malibu

  • 17300 Pacific Coast Hwy. Map It
  • Seafood

Updated 04/01/2014

Fodor's Review

This is one of the most popular restaurants along the Southern California coast. The food is notable mostly for its oversize portions: giant bowls of crab chowder, lobsters up to six pounds, spectacular seafood towers, and the famous mile-high chocolate cake that could easily feed a regiment. But the real reason to visit Gladstone's is the glorious vista of sea, sky, and beach. Sip on one of the iconic mojitos and watch the sun dip into the ocean at sunset. There's a sister

restaurant at Universal Studios, though the lack of beachfront makes it far less attractive.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

17300 Pacific Coast Hwy., at Sunset Blvd., Los Angeles, California, 90272, United States

Map It

Phone:

310-454–3474

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 04/01/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Los Angeles

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By bjain

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 21, 2010

Gladstone's Malibu Review

COMPLETE RIP OFF! Sky high prices! NOT the good Gladstone's it used to be! Don't be fooled! Very little food, exorbitant prices, and AMBIANCE has been destroyed. Good job, NEW OWNERS, you got a great thing and f'd it all up!!!! You have been warned! Now it's up to you if you really want to waste your money there! p.s. Gladstone's in Long Beach has a great menu, at 40 to 50% LESS $$$.

By CJ5

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 25, 2010

Gladstone's Malibu Review

WARNING the name and location are the same but everything else has changed. After decades of patronage celebrating anniversaries, birthdays, and just about any special event that allowed our family to head to our landmark Gladstone’s it has been changed. Yes the booths are gone, staff different pictures removed but my family and I hoped the food would still match the view. Unfortunately, the food was awful, really as a larger party we had a collection

of items and as we each tried the new selections we realized nothing was better than reheated freezer food. We are greatly disappointed to have learned that a large entertainment group took ownership and intended to redirect this landmark. We will move up the coast creating new memories for our special events as I would not have more than a drink and appetizer ever again at Gladstone’s.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 23, 2010

Gladstone's Malibu Review

My favorite restaurant in the whole area was always Gladstones. BUT...I just went there and someone has bought it and they just don't get what made Gladstone's great. The food was not GOOD. The fun, entergic waiters are gone. The fun wrap.. reduced to tin foil. The fun coffee with chocolate chips...gone. The food was bad. The menu is reduced and who puts curry in coconut shrimp? I'm so disapointed that I will no longer go to Gladstone's and this

breaks my heart. I will go up further along the coast and hopefully the other restaurants have not changed. By the way, where are the famous pictures. The history of our area??? The first road I traveled on after birth was the coast highway and after 60 years there is so much history there. Shame on the new owners!

Read More

By BARnone

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 30, 2010

Gladstone's Malibu Review

Gladstone's goes Corporate! A huge corporation SBE has destroyed everything that was good about Gladstone's except the view. The fish is FROZEN. The steaks are FROZEN. The veteran staff has been muscled out. A Miller Lite draft costs $8--that's not a typo--$8. We have been coming to Gladstone's for 20 years, but no more. It is a complete rip-off--frozen seafood at exorbitant prices with untrained staff.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 4, 2010

Gladstone's Malibu Review

My family and I are fourth generation area locals and have patronized Gladstone's several times over the last couple decades. Today we went for my son's 15th birthday celebration. The quality of this place has dropped steadily for the past few years, portions shrinking, pricing marching up and service suffering. Today was a huge disappointment for our son. Three of us cost $115, the appetizer of $20 was 7 small shrimp to share, the entre portions

are markedly less than a year ago and mediocre to passable quality, they plain forgot their traditional, kinda cool chocolate cake and b-day thing (the major dissappointment and the reason we went), they didn't even wrap my wife's small take-home in the cute animal-shaped foil style they are known for...the waiter dropped a small take-out box on the table instead. We left a tip of $7. I didn't want to leave any at all. Gladstone's is out. It's for unknowing tourists only. Spread the word, I will be doing so.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 4, 2008

tourist trap seafood joint on the beach

this is not a place you go for great seafood, it's where you go to watch the sunset, have a cocktail or some mediocre fare in a very noisy atmosphere... it's fun but this is not for great or even good seafood, it's all about the location...

By Liz

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 7, 2004

Food poisoning

My boyfriend took me to Gladstone's for my birthday as I had been there before and had very fond memories. However, this was the first and last time for him. He came down with a really bad case of food poisoning and was very sick for 4 days following the meal and was forced to take time off work to recover. We found that his experience is not as unusual as we might have thought, as two of our friends reported getting food poisoning after dining

there in the past. So be warned...

Read More

By Brad

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 15, 2004

Well, we liked it...

some co-workers and i ate dinner here in september and found it to be pretty good. service is not terrific, i don't think this was just our experience. and it is a bit pricey, but this is expected because of the location. portions are behemoth. don't eat lunch if you're coming here for dinner.

By Rick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 12, 2002

A "You're In California Now" kind of place

The food ranges from mediocre to good. I suggest the clam chowder in sourdough bread bowl. The bottom line reason for going to Gladstones in Malibu is to feel the California beach life. It's on the ocean-- you'll feel the sun and good vibes. My biggest complaint has to be that the food is overpriced even though the portions are quite large.

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 31, 2002

It is what it is

If you are looking for a real informal place with friendly wait staff in a location to die for, Gladstone's might be it. I always take East Coast visitors who I pick up at LAX to Gladstone's for that California feeling. They are not disappointed -- attractive younger crowd in the afternoons on the deck and great sunset views later on. Don't expect gourmet food, although it is as good as most food in Malibu, just go with the flow. Relax over a

bottle of wine and mellow out. In LA area, it doesn't bet better than this.

Read More

By Marla

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 6, 2001

NOT worth the wait

There's always a line here, I guess because the place is on the beach. I've been several times, and last time the food was not just mediocre, it was bad. Our fish was not completely cooked...still cold in the middle, in fact. As a "consolation," they brought us one of their ridiculously huge pieces of chocolate cake free of charge. It was dry. We're not going back, sad to report.

By Lew

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 24, 2001

I LOVE THIS RESTAURANT!!!

Gladstone's Malibu is the best place in LA to eat on the beach. Fabulous location, it's really ON the beach. Absolutely delicious food, great drinks and the best chocolate cake in town. Yum! I'm hungry, gotta go to Gladstone's.

By Lou

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 21, 2000

Attack of the Seagulls!

Great seaside location, good food and service. Try to get a table near the beach and guard your food. My fries were stolen by several very aggressive and fast gulls. Worth the trip and a lot of fun!

By Jeff

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 3, 2000

Deserves its great reputation

Terrific seafood, great location, friendly staff. California at its best.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement