Los Angeles Restaurants

Advertisement

Gladstone's Malibu

On the patio

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Gladstone's Malibu Review

This is one of the most popular restaurants along the Southern California coast. The food is notable mostly for its oversize portions: giant bowls of crab chowder, lobsters up to six pounds, spectacular seafood towers, and the famous mile-high chocolate cake that could easily feed a regiment. But the real reason to visit Gladstone's is the glorious vista of sea, sky, and beach. Sip on one of the iconic mojitos and watch the sun dip into the ocean at sunset. There's a sister restaurant at Universal Studios, though the lack of beachfront makes it far less attractive.

    Restaurant Details

  • Credit cards accepted.
Updated: 04-01-2014

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    tourist trap seafood joint on the beach

    this is not a place you go for great seafood, it's where you go to watch the sunset, have a cocktail or some mediocre fare in a very noisy atmosphere... it's fun but this is not for great or even good seafood, it's all about the location...

    by AskOksana, 1/4/08
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Gladstone's Malibu Review

    My family and I are fourth generation area locals and have patronized Gladstone's several times over the last couple decades. Today we went for my son's 15th birthday celebration. The quality of this place has dropped steadily for the past few years, portions shrinking, pricing marching up and service suffering. Today was a huge disappointment for our son. Three of us cost $115, the appetizer of $20 was 7 small shrimp to share, the entre portions are markedly less than a year ago and mediocre to passable quality, they plain forgot their traditional, kinda cool chocolate cake and b-day thing (the major dissappointment and the reason we went), they didn't even wrap my wife's small take-home in the cute animal-shaped foil style they are known for...the waiter dropped a small take-out box on the table instead. We left a tip of $7. I didn't want to leave any at all. Gladstone's is out. It's for unknowing tourists only. Spread the word, I will be doing so.

    by RobertWebb, 1/4/10
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Gladstone's Malibu Review

    Gladstone's goes Corporate! A huge corporation SBE has destroyed everything that was good about Gladstone's except the view. The fish is FROZEN. The steaks are FROZEN. The veteran staff has been muscled out. A Miller Lite draft costs $8--that's not a typo--$8. We have been coming to Gladstone's for 20 years, but no more. It is a complete rip-off--frozen seafood at exorbitant prices with untrained staff.

    by BARnone, 1/30/10
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Gladstone's Malibu Review

    My favorite restaurant in the whole area was always Gladstones. BUT...I just went there and someone has bought it and they just don't get what made Gladstone's great. The food was not GOOD. The fun, entergic waiters are gone. The fun wrap.. reduced to tin foil. The fun coffee with chocolate chips...gone. The food was bad. The menu is reduced and who puts curry in coconut shrimp? I'm so disapointed that I will no longer go to Gladstone's and this breaks my heart. I will go up further along the coast and hopefully the other restaurants have not changed. By the way, where are the famous pictures. The history of our area??? The first road I traveled on after birth was the coast highway and after 60 years there is so much history there. Shame on the new owners!

    by jobeth64, 6/23/10
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Gladstone's Malibu Review

    WARNING the name and location are the same but everything else has changed. After decades of patronage celebrating anniversaries, birthdays, and just about any special event that allowed our family to head to our landmark Gladstone’s it has been changed. Yes the booths are gone, staff different pictures removed but my family and I hoped the food would still match the view. Unfortunately, the food was awful, really as a larger party we had a collection of items and as we each tried the new selections we realized nothing was better than reheated freezer food. We are greatly disappointed to have learned that a large entertainment group took ownership and intended to redirect this landmark. We will move up the coast creating new memories for our special events as I would not have more than a drink and appetizer ever again at Gladstone’s.

    by CJ5, 6/25/10
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Gladstone's Malibu Review

    COMPLETE RIP OFF! Sky high prices! NOT the good Gladstone's it used to be! Don't be fooled! Very little food, exorbitant prices, and AMBIANCE has been destroyed. Good job, NEW OWNERS, you got a great thing and f'd it all up!!!! You have been warned! Now it's up to you if you really want to waste your money there! p.s. Gladstone's in Long Beach has a great menu, at 40 to 50% LESS $$$.

    by bjain, 11/21/10

Add your own review

Advertisement

· Map of Gladstone's Malibu

Map of



Travel Deals
Forums