Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Hong Kong Hotels

The Peninsula Hong Kong

  • Courtesy of The Peninsula Hong Kong

  • Courtesy of The Penninsula Hong Kong

  • Courtesy of The Penninsula Hong Kong

  • Courtesy of The Penninsula Hong Kong

  • Courtesy of The Penninsula Hong Kong

Pros

  • Legendary dining and service
  • State-of-the-art room facilities
  • Tons of character
  • A variety of on-site facilities, from several restaurants to a spa
  • Free WiFi and VOIP calls

Cons

  • Price
  • A bit rarified for some tastes

Updated 07/19/2013

Fodor's Review

Even in a city with so many world-class hotels, the Peninsula manages to stand apart from the rest, an oasis of old-world glamour–opened in 1928 and the flagship for the luxury Peninsula brand–with Kowloon and harbor views that'll make you feel like you own Hong Kong. Rooms have high-ceilinged, apartment-like suites in the old wing and newer rooms in the upper wing. All rooms are furnished with chic, residential-style elegance and have been updated to feature new guest-oriented

technology, including LED touch-screen wall panels (available in five languages), interactive digital bedside "contral centers", and wireless phones with complimentary VOIP long-distance. Eating and drinking options range from fine dining in the Philippe Starck-designed Felix and Swiss classics in the chalet-style Chesa, to reimagined afternoon tea service in the lobby and cocktails in the swank Salon de Ning. There's also a pool and fitness center and, as with all Peninsulas, a top-of-the-line spa incorporating Asian healing traditions. Of course, it all comes together with impeccable service, and–for those not minding the bank–can be accented with experiences like private helicopter tours and dim sum "journies."

Read More

Hotel Award Winner | 2013

Hotel Information

Address:

Salisbury Rd, Hong Kong, Hong Kong–China

Map It

Phone:

/2920–2888

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 354 rooms
  • Some meals

Updated 07/19/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Hong Kong

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 13, 2012

The Peninsula Hong Kong Review

Remarkable - absolute indulgence! High tea is a must to experience, beautiful surrounds and very relaxing.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 19, 2009

Joyous Reunion with Special Friends at a Cherished Property

We recently - December, 2012 - had the honour of returning to this lovely hotel for a Hong Kong holiday weekend with family and friends. (And, should note I've reviewed the HK Peninsula in the past for Fodors.) The two night stay commenced upon the completion of a few days of meetings in Hong Kong. (Where I stayed once again at my primary HK business travel hotel, the Island Shangri-La; another special property.) Our Peninsula lodging was a

grand deluxe harbour view room with king bed. Perfect for our purposes and wonderfully nostalgic, as we have stayed in that category in the past. And, always a delight to appreciate the little similarities the HK Peninsula rooms and suites share with two of her sisters we also love, the Peninsulas Bangkok and Tokyo. Must mention the wondrous staff at the HK Peninsula. As always, unfailingly warm, gracious and efficient. Indeed, some have become good friends and gently kid me for staying at the Island Shangri-La for work instead of the Peninsula. This particular Peninsula stay, we did not avail ourselves of the hotel's seamless Rolls Royce transfer service. Did so once and it was memorable, with such wonderful and knowledgable drivers and facilitators, namely Billy, Tommy and Leslie; thanks forever, gentlemen. We thought of you checking out and at HKG, before flying home to Singapore via the sublime Singapore Airlines. Another brief and always joyous stay at a special place. Many thanks, fine Peninsula friends and staff. Savour your Hong Kong times.

Read More

By Cilla

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 10, 2006

What a difference a year makes

I first stayed at this hotel a year ago and was very disappointed. They made amends on my second trip and I was treated like royalty. You must arrive in their Rolls Royce and be met at the entrance by at least 2 staff and only then you will have experienced their legendary service.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 17, 2005

The Far East grand dame

Still the best in Hong Kong and probably in Asia . Service , atmosphere , room and views just perfect .

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 13, 2003

Avoid the Peninsula during Peak Season

Although the Peninsula is the best hotel I've ever stayed at, avoid it at all means when it is peak season. The service is slow and the staff seem to ignore you. Also, at times, the lobby can be filled up with curious tourists who aren't even staying there.

By Steven

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 11, 2002

Hong Kong service at its best!

Wonderful stay. Service was exceptional. The rooms were beautiful and still had all the high tech conveniences. We loved the control panel next to the bed. Views from our 20th floor room were great. Their breakfast everyday was the best! Try Felix for dinner and drinks with a wonderful rooftop view of Victoria Harbor. High tea in the lobby is a must. The Peninsula's Rolls Royce airport transfers are a great way to start and end your stay.

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 5, 2002

Peninsula- A Classy Hotel

The Peninsula in Hong Kong is a classy grand hotel offering a captivating blend of british, asian, and modern culture. The hotel facilities are maintained to the highest standard and incorporate the latest technology. The service is very good, but not outstanding like the Oriental in Bangkok. The Tea is excellent and Felix on the top floor offers outstanding food in a classy modern environment. (Visited 11/2001)

By Terry

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 4, 2001

shop till you drop

A great hotel with beautiful rooms,especially in the new portion of the hotel. This hotel is ultra-chic and ultra high tech with impeccable service and style. Bring a lot of money to spend in the most incredible arcade of luxury shops in the world.

By Gerald

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 1, 2001

Absolutely flawless!!!

We stayed in a harbour view 20th floor room for 10 days in October for our 25th anniversary. From the airport pickup to the airport return, the attention we received was flawless. Check-in, restaurants, tour booking, laundry service, everyday breakfast in our room: truly exceptional... and the total cost, not inexpensive, but less than we expected.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement