Asia Forums

Start a new topic Change Forum
Advanced search

4wk Asia Itinerary - Comments Please!!!

Jump to last reply

Below is our current itinerary for our 4 week trip to Asia (we're first timers to the region). The only thing that it set in stone is the flight to Tokyo and home to NYC from Hong Kong. I know it's a lot, but we want to see a lot of places and dont really want to just spend 1 week each in 4 different places. All of the flights below are Air Asia (we still need info for Tokyo-Seoul-Philippines -- help please on this!!! preliminary research revealed only very expensive flights!). A few questions:

-Is Kuala Lumpur worth it? Are we better off adding those days somewhere else, like 1 to Bali and 1 to Bangkok? I'm curious to go because I hear there is great India food and that the people are very nice and welcoming to tourists. I also like that we can fly from KL to Siem Reap on Air Asia. But, I was looking through a book at the store today and started to feel more inclined to scratch it. Would we rather go somewhere else in Malaysia, or somewhere else entirely?

-We want to go somewhere in the Philippines (my boyfriend is of filipino descent) but don't know where, especially given its the rainy season. We have "connections" in Boracay, but is there anything to do (cultural etc) besides just sitting on the beach. (we are not certified scuba divers). I also thought about Tagbilaran - stay on Panglao Island and visit Bohol Island, but then today I read that the beach on Panglao is "disappointing". Also, should be take a day off the Philippines and add it somewhere else?

-Is Bali worth it? I know a lot of people rave about it, but my boss said its "just another beach" (he suggested Chiang Mai instead).

Thanks in advance, I know you all have great advice to offer!!!!

Sat 1-Aug-09 Depart NYC at 11:10am
Sun 2-Aug-09 Arrive in Tokyo at 1:55pm
Mon 3-Aug-09 Tokyo
Tues 4-Aug-09 Tokyo (day trip to Kamakura and/or Kyoto)
Wed 5-Aug-09 Tokyo
Thurs 6-Aug-09 Fly to Seoul in evening (or Friday?)
Fri 7-Aug-09 Seoul
Sat 8-Aug-09 Seoul
Sun 9-Aug-09 Seoul
Mon 10-Aug-09 Fly to somewhere in Philippines (Tagbilaran?) - must fly through Manila?
Tues 11-Aug-09 Philippines
Wed 12-Aug-09 Philippines
Thurs 13-Aug-09 Philippines
Fri 14-Aug-09 Fly to Manila
Sat 15-Aug-09 Depart Manila at 11:45am, Arrive in Kuala Lumpur at 3:40pm
Sun 16-Aug-09 Kuala Lumpur
Mon 17-Aug-09 Depart Kuala Lumpur at 7:20pm, Arrive in Bali approx 10:30pm
Tues 18-Aug-09 Bali
Wed 19-Aug-09 Bali
Thurs 20-Aug-09 Depart Bali at 8:35pm, Arrive in Kuala Lumpur at 11:25pm
Fri 21-Aug-09 Depart Kuala Lumpur at 7:00am, Arrive in Siem Reap at 8:00am
Sat 22-Aug-09 Siem Reap
Sun 23-Aug-09 Depart Siem Reap at 9:45am, Arrive in Bangkok at 10:50am
Mon 24-Aug-09 Bangkok
Tues 25-Aug-09 Bangkok
Wed 26-Aug-09 Depark Bangkok at 4:30pm, Arrive in Hong Kong at 8:15pm
Thurs 27-Aug-09 Hong Kong
Fri 28-Aug-09 Hong Kong
Sat 29-Aug-09 Hong Kong
Sun 30-Aug-09 Depart Hong Kong at 10:25am, Arrive in NYC at 2pm

13 Replies |Back to top

| Add a Reply

Sign in to comment.

Recent Activity

View all Asia activity »
  1. 1 Trip Report On the Road in Beautiful Sri Lanka
  2. 2 Thailand Itinerary Rough Plan
  3. 3 Gang rape in India. Again.
  4. 4 Vietnam - 7 days from HCM
  5. 5 "Copying" Favorite Clothes
  6. 6 Weather in April
  7. 7 Train vs Bus vs Taxi from Narita to Tokyo/Takkyubin service to Narita
  8. 8 Question: Using JR Pass on Narita Express upon arrival
  9. 9 Can you take luggage on the bullet train, or should the hotel send it on?
  10. 10 Trip Report Tokyo: Belated Trip Report
  11. 11 Malaysia travel route help!
  12. 12 Cambodia itinerary advice and luggage storage?
  13. 13 Laos Visa on Arrival - Need Cash in US Dollars?
  14. 14 Nepal - Lucky Escape!
  15. 15 15 night Honeymoon in Bali- April 2015
  16. 16 Thailand for 2 weeks January 2016
  17. 17 Itinerary help for 7 days in Japan
  18. 18 help with planning a trip to Vietnam
  19. 19 Seeking itinerary advice - 14 days in Japan in November
  20. 20 Trip Report From DC to Delhi and beyond
  21. 21 2015 Cherry Blossom Forecast Published
  22. 22 best dining in Kyoto
  23. 23 Haridwar or Rishikesh?
  24. 24 Tokyo Sumo and Baseball
  25. 25 Guardian news story about security and safety in Maldives
View next 25 » Back to the top