Asia Forums

Start a new topic Change Forum
Advanced search

4wk Asia Itinerary - Comments Please!!!

Jump to last reply

Below is our current itinerary for our 4 week trip to Asia (we're first timers to the region). The only thing that it set in stone is the flight to Tokyo and home to NYC from Hong Kong. I know it's a lot, but we want to see a lot of places and dont really want to just spend 1 week each in 4 different places. All of the flights below are Air Asia (we still need info for Tokyo-Seoul-Philippines -- help please on this!!! preliminary research revealed only very expensive flights!). A few questions:

-Is Kuala Lumpur worth it? Are we better off adding those days somewhere else, like 1 to Bali and 1 to Bangkok? I'm curious to go because I hear there is great India food and that the people are very nice and welcoming to tourists. I also like that we can fly from KL to Siem Reap on Air Asia. But, I was looking through a book at the store today and started to feel more inclined to scratch it. Would we rather go somewhere else in Malaysia, or somewhere else entirely?

-We want to go somewhere in the Philippines (my boyfriend is of filipino descent) but don't know where, especially given its the rainy season. We have "connections" in Boracay, but is there anything to do (cultural etc) besides just sitting on the beach. (we are not certified scuba divers). I also thought about Tagbilaran - stay on Panglao Island and visit Bohol Island, but then today I read that the beach on Panglao is "disappointing". Also, should be take a day off the Philippines and add it somewhere else?

-Is Bali worth it? I know a lot of people rave about it, but my boss said its "just another beach" (he suggested Chiang Mai instead).

Thanks in advance, I know you all have great advice to offer!!!!

Sat 1-Aug-09 Depart NYC at 11:10am
Sun 2-Aug-09 Arrive in Tokyo at 1:55pm
Mon 3-Aug-09 Tokyo
Tues 4-Aug-09 Tokyo (day trip to Kamakura and/or Kyoto)
Wed 5-Aug-09 Tokyo
Thurs 6-Aug-09 Fly to Seoul in evening (or Friday?)
Fri 7-Aug-09 Seoul
Sat 8-Aug-09 Seoul
Sun 9-Aug-09 Seoul
Mon 10-Aug-09 Fly to somewhere in Philippines (Tagbilaran?) - must fly through Manila?
Tues 11-Aug-09 Philippines
Wed 12-Aug-09 Philippines
Thurs 13-Aug-09 Philippines
Fri 14-Aug-09 Fly to Manila
Sat 15-Aug-09 Depart Manila at 11:45am, Arrive in Kuala Lumpur at 3:40pm
Sun 16-Aug-09 Kuala Lumpur
Mon 17-Aug-09 Depart Kuala Lumpur at 7:20pm, Arrive in Bali approx 10:30pm
Tues 18-Aug-09 Bali
Wed 19-Aug-09 Bali
Thurs 20-Aug-09 Depart Bali at 8:35pm, Arrive in Kuala Lumpur at 11:25pm
Fri 21-Aug-09 Depart Kuala Lumpur at 7:00am, Arrive in Siem Reap at 8:00am
Sat 22-Aug-09 Siem Reap
Sun 23-Aug-09 Depart Siem Reap at 9:45am, Arrive in Bangkok at 10:50am
Mon 24-Aug-09 Bangkok
Tues 25-Aug-09 Bangkok
Wed 26-Aug-09 Depark Bangkok at 4:30pm, Arrive in Hong Kong at 8:15pm
Thurs 27-Aug-09 Hong Kong
Fri 28-Aug-09 Hong Kong
Sat 29-Aug-09 Hong Kong
Sun 30-Aug-09 Depart Hong Kong at 10:25am, Arrive in NYC at 2pm

13 Replies |Back to top

| Add a Reply

Sign in to comment.

Recent Activity

View all Asia activity »
  1. 1 Trip Report Japan & Korea - A little of this, a little of that
  2. 2 What to pack? For Burma and Thailand
  3. 3 Trip Report We recommend our Seoul serviced apartment
  4. 4 Vietnam Visa on Arrival - Help
  5. 5 Overnight trek to Mine Thauk Village?
  6. 6 Trip Report Kyoto and beyond - 9 days trip in April 2014
  7. 7 How safe is it for US Citizens in Hat Yai and Violence in Southern Thailand
  8. 8 Thailand - what to wear in November, and, cosmetics
  9. 9 Trip Report Japan and Hong Kong, September 2014
  10. 10 Elephants and Tigers (no bears), oh my.
  11. 11 Trip Report Belated 2012 Trip Report - Two Weeks in South Korea
  12. 12 Custom made women's wool slacks in Seoul
  13. 13 Xian - Make your own warriors?
  14. 14 Bali and Java - 24 September to 23 October 2014
  15. 15 Trip Report RHKKMKs---Just to be copy cats
  16. 16 Looking for input on honeymoon itinerary
  17. 17 Trip Report A trip to Mahabaleshwar (India)
  18. 18 Bangkok/Phuket hotel and suggestions to do?
  19. 19 Kashmir today
  20. 20 Trip Report Vietnam Trip Report: March 2014
  21. 21 Yikes! How to get a Visa to India??
  22. 22 Vietnam - In Search of Accessible Nature
  23. 23 Heading to Koh Lipe, missing the boat. So need to spend the night.
  24. 24 Obtaining Multiple-entry China Visa for American in Hong Kong
  25. 25 Trip Report Alleppey Backwater Cruise at Kerala
View next 25 » Back to the top