Whidbey Island for future retirement

Search

Search this Thread

Old May 26th, 2005, 07:47 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I live in the Seattle Washington area and my husband and I want to purchase a vacation house which will become our retirement house. We have 20+ years to retire, but planning now so it will be paid off before retirement. I have read several posts on this forum about Whidbey Island being a great place to vacation, but what about retiring? More convenient to get to than the San Juan Islands which are also considering. I was interested to hear any comments on Whidbey Island and in particular the town of Langley. We are also considering renting out this house in peak season (summer time) so the location would need to be in area of "vacation rentals". I am only a four year resident originally from the east coast and not familiar with locations AT ALL. We are planning on a visit to Whidbey Island this summer and would love to hear any recommended areas to explore which would be a great location for the reasons we want to buy. Appreciate any advise and would like any opinions on Langley and other neighboring communities we should consider. THANKS!
Old May 26th, 2005, 09:13 AM

Received 79 Likes on 8 Posts
If you live in Seattle start taking day trips there asap. Also visit on wet days and winter days; it's an hour from Seattle so there's no reason not to know it like the back of your hand before you consider moving there. Langley, Coupeville - plenty of choices, but prices are going up fast, and if Boeing/Everett starts rehiring big time (787, new 777 models) then the south end of the island will be developing rapidly as it's an easy commute on the Mukilteo ferry + bus.
Old May 26th, 2005, 09:24 AM

Good advice from Lou. Also, if you are concerned about weather, check out if weather on Whidbey Island differs from the weather in Seattle.