Search

Waimea Canyon advice needed

Search this Thread

Old Apr 3rd, 2005, 03:06 PM
pjv
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Waimea Canyon advice needed

My new husband and I will be in Maui and Kauai for our honeymoon at the end of April. I had some concerns about the drive into Waimea Canyon. How are the roads there? Steep and winding? Are there any sharp drop offs, which is my biggest fear? We are mid 50's and I do most of the driving. Should we get a tour for this, which only makes one stop at Waimea Canyon Lookout, or can I do this fairly easily? I am a very good driver, however mountains scare me a little.
How is the road further up to the Koke'e museum?
How much time should we allow for this, with no major hiking involved?
We already booked a van tour to Hana while in Maui--wanted to relax and enjoy the view.
Thanks for any help.

Old Apr 3rd, 2005, 03:22 PM
sharij5

The drive isn't scary, it is just up hill. If memory serves me correctly, it took us about two hours to go up and back. If I were to do it again, I would take a helicopter.

Old Apr 3rd, 2005, 03:35 PM

Easy, beautiful drive. Not to be missed! There are several places to stop and admire the view - all well marked. Do not take a tour. Two hours sounds about right with no hiking...
Old Apr 3rd, 2005, 08:29 PM

Although the drive to Waimea Canyon is a 2-lane road, there is ample room on each side of the roadway for safety.

The good news is, we've had very, very few collisions on that road due to the posted speed limit being at just 25-30mph

Old Apr 3rd, 2005, 08:41 PM

Where is Waimea Canyon? We only have two full days in Maui. Should we spend one on Hana "and" one in Waimea Canyon? We want to snorkel and hike the seven falls (bamboo forest) on the road to hana.
Thanks for any suggestions.
Old Apr 3rd, 2005, 08:48 PM

Mike_b
Waimea Canyon is on Kauai so you won't be missing anything - well you will but you'll be on Maui so that's OK too
Old Apr 3rd, 2005, 08:56 PM

Percy,