Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

visiting nearby communities to Key West (no car)?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Nov 30th, 2007, 08:11 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi

I'll be in Key West in about a month's time and will not be renting a car. I noticed however that there's the "Lower Keys Shuttle" that runs as far as Marathon. I'd be content just hanging around Key West, but if someone believes one of the communities (for example, a charming town/village with a walkable centre with a place to eat would appeal, an especially worthwhile (esp. seafood or vegetarian) restaurant, or a place of historic interest/beauty, even a particularly peaceful beachside strolling area that you love would interest me) between KW and Marathon, including Marathon is worth a look-see, let me know. I'd hate to miss out on an opportunity because who knows when I'll be back in the area (living in Eastern Canada; this is my first time in my life (36 yrs.) to the Keys). I enjoy cycling, so any pleasant bike path ideas are welcomed too.

I notice the bus stops in: Marathon, Big Pine Key (with a stop past the Bahia Honda Park entrance), Summerland Key, Cudjoe Key and Sugarloaf Key, to name a few.

All thoughts and opinions welcome. Best wishes, DAN
Old Dec 1st, 2007, 04:25 AM

Frankly, I don't think this is worth it at all. While the shuttle may stop somewhere that has a decent enough restaurant, none of those places has what I would call "a charming town/village with a walkable center". They are kind of "strip-center" heaven with residences scattered about.
In fact I'm trying to think of many areas where they'd even have sidewalks for convenient walking. That area REQUIRES a car if you want to explore, but I'd hardly leave Key West for any of them to do what you're talking about.
Old Dec 1st, 2007, 05:53 AM
Original Poster