Search

Visit to 9/11 memorial in NYC

Search this Thread

Old Dec 13th, 2015, 04:42 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Visit to 9/11 memorial in NYC

Some notes and tips from our visit to the WTC 9/11 memorial:

TRANSPORTATION. This will be different for everyone depending on your preferences and where you're coming from. I'll mention our experience in case someone sees it as a good idea for them. We took the Path train from Harrison, NJ, to the WTC. The station is about 15 minutes from the NJ turnpike -- easy to get to, and there's a covered parking garage that charges $12 for 12 hours. The charge one way is $2.75, and the trip takes about 20 mins. Definitely recommended if that area is convenient for you.

If you look at a map, you'll see that the Harrison Station is about parallel to the Holland Tunnel, so you might ask why not just take the HT and drive to the WTC. I've had some miserable traffic experiences going both ways into and out of the HT, especially around the holidays. Then you have to make your way the WTC and parking, +/-$45.

FOOD: In case you're looking for something to eat before after, we went to Les Halles on Jones St., a few blocks from the WTC. It was Saturday, so they were serving their brunch menu -- lots of omelet and crepe variations, burgers, some full-blown entrees, plus $5 specials on Bloody Marys and Mimosas. Everyone tried something different, and all enjoyed. Try the truffle french fries. Service was good, nice setting, and reasonable prices.

TICKETS: They have timed tix. Ordering them online is quick and painless. $25, with discounts for students and seniors.

The grounds of the WTC area are nicely done. They've constructed two pools in the size and shape of the footprint of the two buildings, and there's the modernist transportation center that's constructed in the shape of massive gull wings.