Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

USS Constitution - Visitors to Boston don't miss this!

Search

Search this Thread

Old May 14th, 2003, 08:08 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I've been a lifelong resident of the Boston area and had never visited the USS Constitution - the oldest commissioned naval vessel in the world. This despite driving by it on a regular basis and having a personal connection to it as my granddad worked on restoring the vessel. This lapse was rectified on Mother's Day when my family and I went to the Charlestown Naval Shipyard and finally toured "Ole Ironsides".

What a great experience. The ship is beautiful, and the sailors that are stationed on her give a great tour - filled with all sorts of interesting and somewhat gory details. My daughters are 7 and 10 and loved the tour. The guides are sailors in the US Navy. Visiting the ship is free as is the small museum that is nearby.

Security was pretty tight so be prepared to go through a metal detector and to have your bags searched. The sailors are very thorough and also very pleasant.

Don't miss this great national treasure on your trips to Boston. And fellow Bostonians - if you haven't gone yet make sure you do soon. You won't regret it.

Old May 14th, 2003, 08:21 AM

To elaborate on this,Bunker hill is a short walk from the Constitution and you pass thru charlestown. A very nice walk and lots of history. Not far from there is the Warren Tavern, good place to get a drink. This is all part of the freedom trail. There is also a WW2 cruiser at the naval shipyard.
Old May 14th, 2003, 08:48 AM

Freedom Trail tours are free and offered by the parks department. You can also follow the trail on your own. The tour is worth doing. The walk over to Bunker Hill nad the Constitution are not on the guided part of the tour but well worth the extra walking.
Old May 15th, 2003, 06:08 AM