Trip Report: Horseback riding on Maui

Old Apr 1st, 2004, 03:18 PM
Original Poster

Trip Report: Horseback riding on Maui

We had a great ride with Makena Stables in Kihei and I highly recommend them. I researched several other stables, but picked Makena because they were a short drive from our rental house and because another fodorite gave them a rave review.

Makena has only a dozen horses, and they take excellent care of them. They run 2 rides/day, maximum 6 people. So the horses work only 2 hours/day, 6 days/week. Helmets, snacks, drinks, and saddlebags are all provided.

From the beginning of my research, Helaine at Makena was very helpful, answering email questions and calling me to clarify times, prices, and availability. Her husband Pat Borge was our trail guide, along with another hand at the rear.

Our group of 5 ranged from a complete beginner to several with more experience. Pat matched us to horses suited to our height, weight, and experience, and gave us all a half hour riding "lesson" prior to setting out. I thought this extra care for the horses and the riders was exceptional.

The sunset ride we took was about 2-1/2 hours, with lovely terrain and views as we rode up to a volcanic vent above La Perouse Bay. Pat is extremely knowledgable about island history, flora, and fauna, and was an informative guide.

Great folks, great horses -- email me directly if you have additional questions. Or contact Helaine at 808-879-0244. (Please be aware of the time difference as the phone rings in their home.)
Old Apr 6th, 2004, 07:48 AM

Without a doubt, the very best horseback ride I ever took on Maui was Adventures on Horseback, off the Hana Highway.
Old Apr 7th, 2004, 04:48 PM

hi marilyn: i am so glad you chose Makena Stables! my sunset ride with them in January was definitely the highlight of my trip. weren't the horses beautiful? do you remember which one you got? mine was a gorgeous Paint named Kokokua (i think!)Helen and Pat are great!