Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

Thinking of relocating to west coast.. Help!!

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 20th, 2004, 04:55 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am interested in moving somewhere on the west coast. I would like to have easy access via train, etc to LA but can not afford to live in LA/Santa Monica area. What state or county is considered affordable and can find decent job opportunities. I currently work in health insurance and have found several health insurance companies on the west coast. I am looking for a safe middle class neighborhood. I appreciate any insight. Thanks!
Old Mar 20th, 2004, 05:36 AM

I work in the health insurance area to some extent, also, although I am a consultant and don't work directly for an insurer. However, all of the major insurers/HMOs/health plans or PROs, etc., I know of in California have their main offices in the large cities -- LA and San Francisco/Oakland (most of them), or perhaps San Diego. That is where I think your job opportunities would be best. It really depends what kind of work you want to do and at what professional level, however. At a lower level, almost any small claims office (or even a hospital or other provider's office) could provide job opportunities, or if you are more involved in care management. At the higher professional level, you will most likely have to go to the major cities. A hospital might provide the most likely source of jobs related to insurance that could be in communities of many sizes.