St Louis with 17 high school kids

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 21st, 2004, 07:41 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

We will have one Saturday in June to see the sights of St Louis. I've done some research-is the City Museum fun for teens? Should we spend the time & money to go up the Arch? How much time for shopping at Union Station? Ideas for local(not a chain), not expensive, place for a meal.
Thanks for your help!
Old Jan 21st, 2004, 11:15 AM

I am a resident of St.Louis and have not been to the city museum. I have heard people raving about it, however, they have mostly younger children.
1 hour is plenty of time to spend aat Union Station. Most of the shops are specialty shops and there is a food court. You may as well go up in the arch. You will get some great views.
THere isn't much really in the downtown area these days. If you would like a good local place to eat for teens, I think Seamus McDaniels is good. It's an irish place that has excellent HUGE burgers. It is pretty casual. It is lcoated in Dog Town, off of 40 and Hampton area. I believe it is located on Tamm, off of Oakland.
The zoo is great too - and it's free! THe zoo is really close to Semaus McD's. 'There is also the Science Center, which is also just down from the zoo. It is free. The extra side shows such as Omnimax are extra.
Have fun-
Old Jan 21st, 2004, 11:51 AM

There's a museum under the arch (actually underground, I think) covering the Oregon Trail era. It seems like it was free and we really enjoyed it.

You should do the arch. It is something they will never forget. The wait can be hours long. You may be able to make reservations ahead of time.
Old Jan 21st, 2004, 01:27 PM

Hi!