Seattle to San Diego in 14 Days

Jan 7th, 2018, 09:34 AM
Original Poster

Seattle to San Diego in 14 Days

New here! My husband, who NEVER takes time off work and loves to be home due to his extensive work-travel, has suggested taking 14 days to visit the PCH with our kids (6, 14 y/o). I think watching our 22 y/o graduate college and move away for a job has him thinking about time flying and memory making for our other 2. With that said, we are Midwestern'er. While I've travelled to Seattle for a few days for work and to Los Angeles (as a truck drivers daughter - fun big rig trip), I have no experience with the West Coast and whats feasible and what are great places to visit.

Need suggested places to visit/see and the amount of time to spend in each. We are sold on spending a day in Seattle, seeing the Redwood forest, staying off the interstate when possible, but will definitely hit it to make our 14 day drive doable. We love parks, scenic stops, hubby loves college campuses/stadiums (just a thought, not required).

Tentative dates - Arrive Seattle June 13th; Depart Los Angeles June 26th.

At this point, all suggestions are welcome. Our goal is to see the west coast and make great memories with our kids. We are very open to ideas, suggestions.

Many thanks in advance.
Jan 7th, 2018, 11:22 AM

First thing, if possible reverse your route. We say in Seattle that July 5 is the first day of summer, so if you can work it so that the weather has some time to improve as you travel north, so much the better.

Second, the term "PCH" is used almost exclusively in southern California, and refers to CA 1; the main coastal road (which isn't on the cost very much at all in California) is US 101, so some confusion can arise.

Two weeks is more than adequate to make the drive; the complications arise in planning side trips or stay-overs. There are so many possibilities in this regard that some tough choices need to be made.