Scenic routes in Colorado and Utah

Old Jun 17th, 2001, 11:29 AM
Les

Scenic routes in Colorado and Utah

Two adults will be flying from the East Coast to either Salt Lake City or Denver in early Sept. We would like to plan a circular trip including the most scenic routes with some easier hiking, and perhaps some out of the way interesting side trips. We will have 12-14 days. Any suggestions would be also appreciated as to which would be the preferred starting point. Thank you..

Old Jun 17th, 2001, 02:07 PM
Dee

I am not good at figuring out "circular"routes, however from Denver to Grand Junction looked like a wonderful drive-- interstate 70( I was on the train so can only speak from what I saw out the window.) I would have loved to stay at Glen wood Springs. Historical "hot springs" with lots of charm.
From Grand Junction to Salt Lake city
did not impress me--just sort of flat nothing!!
Salt Lake City north to Park City is beautiful drive , even though too early for winter sports, is an interesting area.
Hope this helps.....

Old Jun 17th, 2001, 02:21 PM
rqf

This is a circular trip out of Denver. Denver to Moab (Arches, Canyonlands National Parks). Moab to Bryce National Park going through Capitol Reef National Park - very scenic drive. Bryce to Zion National Park. From Zion to NOrth Rim of the Grand CAnyon. From North Rim to MOnument Valley and then onto Mesa VErde National Park. Mesa Verde back to Denver traveling rt. 550 and then rt 50 to Canon City and then onto to Colorado Srprings and back to DEnver. All the national parks have plenty of short easy to walk trails. There are some side trips you could take on this route - Black Canyon of the Gunnison National Monument, Navajor National Monument and if time permits you could go from Monument Valley to CAnyon de Chellly and then to Mesa Verde. Hectic but can be done in 14 days. Can provide day by day specifics if you think you are interested in this itinerary.

Old Jun 17th, 2001, 02:59 PM
Bob Brown