Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

Ritz carlton, Registry, or Don Cesar which is best ?

Old Mar 11th, 2000, 01:04 AM
Jane

We are thinking of staying at either the Ritz Carlton or Registry Naples or the Don Cesar in Petes beach. We like peace and quiet and good food, our son likes kids clubs and swimming pools . We have already stayed at Registry and really liked it but thought a change might be a good idea. Any views on which would be best choice ?

Old Mar 11th, 2000, 04:04 AM
Patrick

As a Naples resident, I feel it would be hard to top either of our two top hotels, The Ritz being a little stodgy, and the Registry being a little more "fun". Two years ago we joined a friend for brunch at the Don Cesar and it was incredibly disappointing. Horrible service, mediocre food that had been standing on steam tables for many hours, and a presentation (other than an ice sculpture) that reminded me of a Holiday Inn Buffet. Can't speak about the rooms, but I sure wasn't impressed with the place from my limited experience.

Old Mar 11th, 2000, 05:19 AM
Mary

The Don Cesar is a great hotel. We've stayed there many times and have never been disappointed. It does not have the same atmosphere as the Registry or the Ritz as it is an older hotel (built in the 20's). You might want to check their website (www.doncesar.com).

Hope this helps.

Old Mar 11th, 2000, 06:20 AM
cmcdaniel

For what it's worth, the Don CeSar has lost a star/diamond from it's Mobil/AAA rating as of last year. It's still a very nice hotel and if you are looking to stay on St. Pete Beach, that would be my choice.

Of the 3 hotels mentioned, though, the Ritz is probably the best for you all..elegant, peaceful, good food etc, though your son might prefer the atmosphere of the Don (I know our kids would). Ritz is the best of the 3 by far.

Old Mar 16th, 2000, 03:03 PM
elaine

Jane,

I'll second the Ritz.

Old Mar 16th, 2000, 10:47 PM
ted