Search

Relocation: Phoenix vs San Antonio

Search this Thread

Old Jan 17th, 2006, 02:30 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Relocation: Phoenix vs San Antonio

Hello,
I live on Whidbey Island in the Pacific Northwest and I love a lot of things here, but my wife is just miserable. She would really like to move somewhere warmer so she wouldn't have to be indoors so much. I have a hard time with the loooong springs here. I've narrowed it down to basically two places because we have family in both cities and we want to be close to some family not all by ourselves in the middle of nowhere.
Could people comment on the pros and cons of moving to Phoenix vs San Antonio? Also jobwise, I'm a computer programmer. I'm guessing that Phoenix might be a better choice? Personally I like the idea of San Antonio better since it's a bit greener.
I will have a very hard time letting go of the clean air here, the ocean, mountains, island life, but I think my wife has put up with my way of life enough and maybe she would be happier somewhere warmer.
Old Jan 17th, 2006, 02:57 PM

Have never lived in Phoenix (have friends and reltives there, have visited) and do live in San Antonio so there's probably a bias here. Go for SA! Phoenix is a relatively "new" city, having burgeoned in the last few decades from essentially a large town. Traffic can be fierce. SA, also rapidly growing, has a few hundred years of history as a city behind it. And if you are into green, SA is probably a better option. Don't assume your job prospects would be better in Phoenix, either - there's a lot of scientific/biomedical business in SA and a growing tech sector.
Old Jan 17th, 2006, 03:57 PM

I would say, overall, Phoenix weather is better because we have no/very little humidity, but Phoenix has a very large spread-out population, so it's a must to find your home near your employment. I find San Antonio very nice, but I don't do humidity.
Old Jan 17th, 2006, 05:39 PM