Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

Phoenix/ Scottsdale to Vacation and Possibly Live

Old May 7th, 2002, 10:03 AM
Rob

Hello. I am a NYC resident going to the Scottsdale/Phoenix area for a vacation but with ideas for potential move down the line. Simply in a looking phase. Is this area worth it? I am single in early thirties with a good joparalegal)looking for a potential change. Are there good restaurants,bars,economy,etc? Is crime a serious problem? I KNOW housing is cheaper than NYC. It does not take a brain surgeon to make that statement. Getting burnout in the Big Apple and looking for a REAL up and comer. I know these questions are probably meant for a real estate agent but posts on these boards are definitely helpful. Thanks.

Old May 7th, 2002, 10:37 AM
scotty

I've never lived in Phoenix/Scottsdale, but I have been there several times on business, so maybe I can help a little.

First of all, there's probably more activity on a single block in Manhattan than there is in all of Phoenix.

Scottsdale is pretty, and mostly upscale. I have found the traffic in the area to be brutual, possibly because the road infrastructure hasn't kept up with growth.

I'm sure others can give you more info, but that's just my 2 cents.

Old May 7th, 2002, 01:55 PM
c

I just got back from spending the weekend in Scottsdale. The weather was nice, but getting warm - it was 98 degrees when I left yesterday. Everyone seemed to be complaining about all of the recent major layoffs at some of the big technology companies. And needless to say that these layoffs have affected other industries as well.

But despite the weakened economy, there's little sign of it when you see all of the new construction and recent development of upscale shopping.

Tempe tends to have more of the party scene due to the 45,000 student population at ASU. But the bars and nightclubs in this area tend to cater to the younger college crowd.