One week in Newport RI during August

Old Jul 31st, 2010, 08:07 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
One week in Newport RI during August

Hi

We are looking at Newport as our next family holiday destination during early august 8th to 13th). We will travel with a 10 and 15 year old and our dog a Great Dane. For now I have booked Motel 6 considering the proximity to marina/downtown and their pet policy.

Kids want beaches and we want photo locations ( being photographers by profession ). I understand not all beaches permit dogs during this time of the year. Any suggestions on this? Since we plan to stay 5 days I am looking at suggestions on “Things to do” in Newport and neighboring area for instance Jamestown, Block Island etc.

Thanks
Old Aug 1st, 2010, 05:27 AM

If you really like historic mansions, you could easily spend most all your time just in Newport. Most people find that 2 or 3 mansions per day is about all they can process, as there's a lot to see at each. There are beach areas in Newport, but I don't think you'll find any that are dog-friendly.
Old Aug 1st, 2010, 08:16 AM

I was working in Newport some years ago, and one of the best restaurants I've ever been to was SALAS. I don't know if it's still around, but if it is, it's worth a try.
Old Aug 1st, 2010, 05:49 PM

Great Dane huh? Good luck with that.

http://www.dogfriendly.com/server/tr...INewport.shtml
Old Aug 2nd, 2010, 04:39 AM

Both state parks in Jamestown allow dogs on leashes and will be scenic places for a picnic and a nice walk for all the members of your group. Ft. Wetherill has an old WWII fort to explore and Beavertail has a beautiful lighthouse with a museum.
Most dog owners take their pups out on the beaches after they close for the day.
Old Aug 2nd, 2010, 04:46 AM