Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

New Orleans - My Self-Control Went Out the Window - WHAT'S WITH THAT???

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 25th, 2004, 05:45 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My husband and I just returned from 4 days in the Crescent City. I hate heat and humidity but hubby had a convention so I tagged along.

We are not Foodies but I studied the forum before we left and realized that there were going to be way more great restaurants than time would allow. I am currently trying to lose 20 lbs. this year.

What surprised me was that we kept on eating. It didn't matter that we were full. Time for another meal. Time for beignets. Time for another meal. Time for beignets. You get the picture. How did New Orleans force us to do this?

By the way, we ate at Acme Oyster House, Red Fish Grill, Deanies, Brigtsens, The Gumbo Shop (twice) and got muffalettas from Central Grocery. Then, of course, there was the nightly visit to Café DuMonde. Everything we ate was fabulous (except I wouldn't choose the fried seafood platter at Deanies again - way too much fried food).

We stayed at the Iberville Suites and were quite happy with our room and great service.

While hubby was busy with his convention, I went on tours each morning:
* Oak Alley Plantation (Gray Lines, $36)
* French Quarter Historic Tour (Friends of the Cabildo, $12)
* Cemetery and Voodoo Tour (Historic NO Tours, $15) I especially enjoyed the visit to the cemetery.

Even though I sweat gallons of perspiration and walked many miles, I still managed to gain 5 pounds. WHAT'S WITH THAT?
Old Jun 25th, 2004, 05:53 PM

Glad you had a great time in New Orleans!!!

Forget the pounds -- it's all water.
Old Jun 25th, 2004, 06:00 PM

I think it is one of those rules of traveling, where there is good food, you must eat it. Plain and simple, they put it out, you eat it up.