New Orleans Cemetery Photography

Search

Search this Thread

Old May 22nd, 2005, 07:24 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am a photographer going to NO for the first time. I am considering doing photographs in/of the cemeteries, but I was concerned about safety.
Is it really dangerous? I could take another person with me. Any thoughts?

What about the walking tours... is there enough latitude to do some photographs while on a tour?

thanks,
ramone
Old May 22nd, 2005, 07:35 PM

I went on a walking tour and they gave us plenty of time for picture taking.
Old May 23rd, 2005, 06:18 AM

I agree that you should have plenty of time for picture-taking on a walking tour. It probably would be a good idea to mention it to the tour guide before you start the tour. I definitely feel you'd be safer going with a tour group.
Old May 23rd, 2005, 07:13 AM

Received 17 Likes on 1 Post
From what I remember from a trip about many years ago is do not go into a cemetery that isn't full of tourists. We were walking to one that we had seen on the way from the airport and a policeman stopped us and asked us where we were going. We told him and he got pretty angry and said to get out of this area and do not ever go into an empty cemetery because you could be robbed or killed. There were four of us so I don't think taking an extra person makes a difference if you are in the wrong one.

Things may have changed in that length of time but there are plenty of cemeteries that are open to tourists and the tours are very interesting.
Old May 23rd, 2005, 08:23 AM

p.s. As for taking photos in cemetaries, everyone was doing it, but again, we only went to cemetaries that were listed in a tour guide.
Old May 23rd, 2005, 08:26 AM

I think it goes without saying that one should avoid strolls through the projects when traveling in any major city - this is hardly a reflection on New Orleans nor a reason to clasify the entire city as shady.
Old May 23rd, 2005, 08:52 AM