Need help!! Fall Foliage

Search

Need help!! Fall Foliage

Search this Thread

Old Jul 29th, 2005, 08:43 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need help!! Fall Foliage

I'm wanting to plan a trip for my husband & myself to the Vermont, New Hampshire area to see the fall colors. We have never been to that area before - don't know what's the prettiest area. Any suggestions? Could use help finding housing. Any help would be appreciated....this is the first time I've ever posted a message - so I'm just learning...
Old Jul 29th, 2005, 08:51 AM

I think that Stowe Vermont is such a pretty area and the town is charming. There are tons of hotels and B&Bs to choose from.
Old Jul 29th, 2005, 09:00 AM
Original Poster

Should I just stay in one place or stay a couple of places. Can you comfortably drive to see other areas of color?
Old Jul 29th, 2005, 09:05 AM
bm

You should really make lodging reservations ASAP, especially weekends. I'm biased, but I think Vermont is the prettiest. The Stowe area is a great place to base yourself. Check out www.gostowe.com
Old Jul 29th, 2005, 09:12 AM
Original Poster

Thanks for the info...I would like to ask more questions, but I have to take my son to get his wisdom teeth out...so hopefully - I can get more good info later.
Thanks for the help - I'll definately check out Stowe.
Should I try for late Sept, early Oct to have the best chance at seeing the best colors?
Old Jul 29th, 2005, 09:13 AM

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
I love Vermont myself! The drive between Brattleboro and Bennington is pretty (but it's not up in the mountains like further north, maybe you'd prefer that?).

The trick about fall colors is figuring out the "peak" of the season. Which is different every year depending on weather conditions (some years are more vibrant than others, and height of color can vary by as much as a few weeks).
Old Jul 29th, 2005, 09:35 AM