Mt. Rushmore, Late March 2016?

Jul 8th, 2015, 02:56 PM
Original Poster

Mt. Rushmore, Late March 2016?

We are really wanting to visit the Mt. Rushmore, Badlands, Deadwood, South Dakota area in Late march for our kids' Spring Break ( and mine as I'm a professor). We will have about 10 total days including drive time ( 17 hours) from Central Arkansas.

My question is about weather. Will there be snow? I found online the average in Deadwood late March is 44 degrees, but I assume snow is still possible. We are okay with snow, but please note we are from Arkansas and rarely see more than a few flurries. I wonder if we could still travel well in the snow. Again, in Arkansas a few flurries and all life halts.
Jul 8th, 2015, 04:47 PM

In March 44 is the average high - the average low is 21. So you will very likely run into quite cold weather and snow is very likely.

If you are not experienced driving in snow/sleet/ice this is not something I would recommend.
Jul 8th, 2015, 07:05 PM
Original Poster

Snow is fine, and actually we would love to experience an actual "winter" and perhaps go skiing or tubing. The lodges we were hoping to stay in are both open during that time period. Thanks for your information re: road conditions though. I didn't know if roads were better managed there when it snowed than here. I assumed so, but didn't know how travel would be .
Jul 9th, 2015, 09:39 AM

Yes, you can expect roads to be better managed in any area that gets a lot of snow.

But when it is actually snowing you will run into roads that are not plowed, partly plowed, have residue of snow and ice and are slippery. Black ice is especially treacherous.