Search

Moving to Florida

Search this Thread

Old Jan 11th, 2021, 08:53 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Moving to Florida

My husband and I are moving to Florida in the next year or so and I am feeling overwhelmed in my research and was looking for advice and insight. We believe we have narrowed down the areas to the gulf coast between from Tampa down to Naples. We will be empty nesters so schools are not really a concern but safety is. We really like Sarasota but read some negative info on the growing safety concerns there. Ideally we are looking to be no more than 15-20 min from beach. Looking for condo not a high rise. I am a nurse and have looked into employment in these areas but would love any comments on that. My husband can work from anywhere. We are in our late 40s early 50's and would prefer that be the median age. We are not adventure seekers but love nature. We spend our fee time relaxing by the pool and ocean, hiking and exploring.we love to try new restaurants as well. We'd really like to stick to no more than 350k for housing. I am aware of the pros and cons of Florida weather, taxes, etc. I'm looking more for insight into these specific locations.
Old Jan 12th, 2021, 09:07 AM

I"m surprised there are safety concerns in Sarasota since it seems pretty staid to me, and not on the young side. But I sure don't know anything specific, just my impressions but I haven't been there in a few years.

I have a cousin who lives in Bonita Springs, a bit north of Naples. He likes it there, I think maybe they moved there as it was somewhat cheaper than Naples. According to this, only 2 pct cheaper
https://www.bestplaces.net/cost-of-l...aples-fl/50000

Same tool says Sarasota is about 18 pct cheaper than Naples. I"m surprised it says median Naples housing is only $324K or so, it's a lot higher than that where I live.