Search

moving to Florida

Search this Thread

Old Sep 1st, 2016, 08:09 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
moving to Florida

We are senior citizens looking to move to a retirement community in Florida in about two years and want to know the places safest from floods and also best for health care. We are retired professionals on a limited fixed income wanting to buy a single story home.
Old Sep 1st, 2016, 09:23 AM

well, I'm not a Florida expert but two places with good health care that I don't think are highly prone to floods (or hurricanes as much as some other areas) are Jacksonville and Gainesville. Gainesville has an excellent hospital as part of U of FL plus a cancer and specialty hospital, and Jacksonville has a couple good ones, also, one a branch of Mayo CLinic.

I have a friend who lives in Gainesville and because it is inland, it isn't nearly as expensive as a lot of beach property cities for housing. SO if you don't care as much about the beach, that could work for you. I think she has a low-lying area near her house where rain can collect, but hurricanes are most common in the southern part of FLorida, it seems to me (SE or SW) or maybe the shore around Tampa/Sarasota. I don't know property costs in Jacksonville, but they have a good airport. Gainesville isn't too terribly far to Tampa airport. I know Gainesville also has areas prone to some flooding, but it is areas near the bodies of water (creeks and lakes).

A lot of FLorida has flood zones, however, as it is relatively flat, you have water all over, and it is also prone to hurricanes. But some parts are a lot worse.

that's my only ideas, I know lots of FL residents on here who can advise better, no doubt.
Old Sep 1st, 2016, 09:31 AM

It would be very helpful if you would tell us why you want to live in Florida and where you have visited that you liked.
Old Sep 1st, 2016, 09:45 AM