Mount Rushmore in October

Search

Search this Thread

Old Dec 6th, 2005, 12:33 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm planning to visit Mt Rushmore, Black Hills Grand Teton and possibly Yellowstone in the last week of October 2006, staying for about 10 days.

Will the weather, i.e. SNOW hamper any plans to sightsee or drive?

Thanks
Old Dec 6th, 2005, 05:23 AM

You can always check with weather sites to see what the average weather is. And as your trip approaches, you can watch for specific forecasts. In general, you should have no problem, and that time of year should be very pleasant.

When I was a fighter pilot in the Air Force, we enjoyed flying into the Air Force base near Mt Rushmore. We would then plan our departure to fly right across, and close to, the wonderful Mt Rushmore monuments. Never climbed over the rock, but up close from an airplane it is magnificent.

My long-term forecast is that you will find highs in the 50s or 60s, little chance of rain, and no chance of snow. Good luck.
Old Dec 6th, 2005, 05:56 AM
Original Poster

Thanks Wayne, I need to book the flights in January so need to know the likelyhood of problems.

Would your similar forecast apply for the trip to Yellowstone?
Old Dec 6th, 2005, 06:52 AM
TheWeasel

ourunner-The temp and precip averages can be found for any nat'l park by going to nps.gov, searching for the specific park you're interested in, and clicking on "Plan your visit". That will take you to a page with a link to weather and climate. If you click on the weather/climate link, it usually gives you a month by month breakdown of the ave. high and low. For Mt. Rushmore, the direct link is: http://www.nps.gov/moru/travel_info/weather_hist.htm
For Yellowstone, the link is: http://www.nps.gov/yell/planvisit/or...ther/index.htm