Notices

Manta Ray - BI

Old Aug 15th, 2005, 11:52 PM
Original Poster

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Manta Ray - BI

We are going to Kauai, BI and Oaha next month and heard that you can go diving/snorkeling at night with the Manta Rays in Kona- has anybody done this? is this 'eco friendly'? We also want to go up to the Observatory, should we have a couple of days in between doing both? ( considering the altitude difference?)
We'll be staying in Hilo ( which we preferred to Kona when we went a few years ago).
Old Aug 16th, 2005, 10:17 AM

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I've never done the manta ray dive before, but I will be doing it this coming Friday.

The Pacific Manta Research Foundation has put together some guidelines to be followed during these manta dives - you can read them at http://www.mantapacific.org/mantapac...ona/index.html as well as getting a list of operators that do the dive.
Old Aug 17th, 2005, 12:43 AM
Original Poster

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thank you- maybe you get a chance to report back after your dive? We have never been diving before, so are wondeirng if we would be able to do this. Thanks for the link-will cehck it out!
Old Aug 17th, 2005, 08:53 AM

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You can SNORKEL but can't dive on the manta ray trip if you're not certifed to dive.

I have researched this dive trip alot because I've read in dive magazines that "when it's good, it's one of the top 10 dives in the world". I'm getting my kids certified just so we can do this dive as a family next April.
Old Aug 17th, 2005, 09:34 AM

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
My husband and son (28) did the Manta Ray dive out of Kona (actually the harbor just north of Kona) last year. Sorry I can't remeber the name of the company. They both snorkeled and absolutely loved it. They saw one giant manta, who swam between the divers and the snorkelers for awhile.
Old Aug 17th, 2005, 10:49 PM

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts