las vegas t;o Santa Ana Ca - Help Please

Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 23rd, 2007, 09:25 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

This is my first time to use fodors. Please help - have airline tickets to fly into LV and out of Santa Ana Ca for 12 days middle of Sept. Want to stay in LV for maybe 2 nights then head west. Would like to see a couple of shows in LV, don't gamble, some of death valley, maybe yosemite, and definitely hollywood. Please help with route, places to stay, see, do. Thank you very much
Old Aug 23rd, 2007, 09:58 AM

From Vegas I would take 15 west to 58 and then north on 395. Loop over to Death Valley on 178 & 190 (although DV would not be my choice of places to visit in mid-September) then rejoin 395 near Lone Pine. Continue north on 395, take Tioga Pass into Yosemite, then leave the park on 41 headed for Fresno. From Fresno take 99 and 5 down to LA. Easily done. I would allow 3 driving days for this route, plus whatever sightseeing time you want to build in.

As an LA native, I'm always puzzled when people say they want to see "Hollywood". If you want to take studio tours, there are a couple that can be recommended. Otherwise, a quick trip down Hollywood and Sunset Boulevards can be done in the better part of an afternoon.

The beaches and museums of LA are good to see, and if you're leaving from SNA you will of course be right next to Disneyland.

Old Aug 23rd, 2007, 12:51 PM

I echo the previous poster's sentiments about Hollywood. Aside from Grauman's Chinese Theatre and maybe Fredericks of Hollywood if your so inclined, Hollywood has very little to recommend it as a tourist destination. The movie and TV studios are mostly in other areas (Burbank, Studio City, etc) and Hollywood itself is a gritty, marginal part of Los Angeles.