Is it safe in Washington D.C?

Feb 1st, 1998, 11:33 AM
Raymond

Is it safe in Washington D.C?

Hi! I am a student in Texas. My friends and I are planning a trip to D.C during this spring break. I would like to know if is it a good time to go to d.c? and is it safe in D.C? I heard that the crime rate is very high in D.C. Is the metro system convenient, clean and safe? Pls tell me whatever u know about D.C. Thanks.

Feb 1st, 1998, 05:46 PM
James McNamara

My sixteen year old son and I spent two weeks at
Washington, D.C. last summer, beginning in early
June. We used the Metro extensively, with no
problems at all. It takes you everywhere, and
quickly. We saw no problems, even during the early
morning hours. There are lots of police around
which is comforting, and they are all armed. We
really enjoyed ourselves, without worry. Food may
be a problem, as there seems to be not a lot of
sit-down restaurants available, but lots of stand-up
quick areas available. Relax! The area is
beautiful, safe, and wonderful! The only real
problem is that you will NOT have enough time to
see everything! Remember, everything is more
beautiful and different at night - visit the
monuments during the day and during the night!
WoW! enjoy yourselves! Wish I was there!

Feb 1st, 1998, 08:25 PM
H.Anderson

Ray ... a friend who is a DEA agent was mugged leaving work downtown at 5PM outside his office. The subway is DARK and moody because it was designed that way for atmosphere! In spite of that I love the Georgetown area at night. "Hook em Horns" (Texas-ex)

Feb 2nd, 1998, 08:40 AM
janet

D.C. is a very safe city as long as you stick primarily to the tourist attractions. The Mtro system is great - safe, clean and fast. The spring is the prettiest time of year to visit DC because of the cherry blossom trees that are in bloom all around the tidal basin area. The weather is usually pleasant in the spring - but can vary immensely. Have fun!

Feb 3rd, 1998, 10:29 AM
Christina