Interisland Fare Info 6/99

Jul 5th, 1999, 04:16 AM
rmiller

Interisland Fare Info 6/99

I just came back from a 2 week Oahu/Kauai vacation and purchased an interisland coupon through a local travel agency an Oahu resident-friend uses. I had to purchase a Hawaiian Airlines R/T coupon voucher w/c is redeemable for a ticket ($49-$53 depending on the agency) as I wasn't a Hawaii resident. Aloha offers the $49 coupons ONLY for residents. Make sure the t-agent CHECKS your DRIVER'S LICENSE, as she first assumed I was a resident and almost sold me an Aloha Air ticket on "Kamaaina "(Hawaii resident)rates. The ticket counter will also check your I.D. and if you purchase the wrong voucher, you'll have to pay the full-fare difference. The t-agent mentioned that Island Air is the most expensive and is a smaller plane. The coupons expire on 9/99. They're convenient since they have hourly flights so they're changeable. I believe AAA rates are $77/one-way, so this may be the most inexpensive way to go.

Also, in the local weekly guidebook "Oahu This Week" in Hawaii newsstands, there are ads for inter-island excursions and fares: in the 6/21 issue:
1. "Best Value Travel" 1-800-596-0421 is listing interisland fares @$39.95 each way. Also $103/overnighter fares based on double occupancy w/c includes r/t airfare, accomodations & 24 hr. car rental.

A 1-day guided tour is $117 w/c includes r/t air, sighttseeing on motorcoaches to places like Haleakala, Iao Needle/Lahaina Town/Kaanapali in Maui; Waimea Canyon/Spouting Horn/ Wailua River Boat Tour/Old Russian Fort in Kauai; Volcano Nat'l Park/Kailua Town/Parker Ranch/Punaluu Black Sand Beach in Hawaii;

2. "Regal Tours" (808) 971-1100 listing a "One Day Neighbor Island Tour" to Maui/Kauai/Hawaii from $119.

These other deals are based on 2 traveling: Fly/Drive to Hawaii/Maui/Kaui for $95 tax & service charge included. Also lists "Neighbor Island Overnighters"(Air, Room, Car) for $129.

It's worth checking out.

Jul 5th, 1999, 04:28 AM