Hudson River trip suggestions?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 9th, 2010, 01:08 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Last night's "No Reservations" got me thinking about a road trip up through the Hudson Valley. Also want to see Seneca Falls and other historic sites. Any recommendations since I don't want to pay to stay a Mohonk Mountain Resort. Also want to see Cohoes (Dh spent time at a relative's house there).
Old Feb 9th, 2010, 01:18 PM

When would you like to travel?
Where? Seneca Falls is nowhere near Mohonk Mountain House. Cohoes is like a suburb of Albany--just for passing through?

For how long? How much are you willing to pay? what kind of accomodations--B&Bs, hotels, motels?
Who are the players--adults, kids, and your interests?

There's much to see and do if you narrow down some choices
Old Feb 9th, 2010, 01:44 PM
Original Poster

Two adults--summer road trip--maybe two weeks. I am a US History teacher. We have some family to visit between Long Island, Albany, and State College, PA. Enjoy B&Bs. There are wineries around these areas as well?
Old Feb 9th, 2010, 07:07 PM
J62

Lots of generic chain hotels in the Hudson Valley if you're looking for utility. Rhinebeck has some B&Bs plus the Beekman Arms hotel. Haven't stayed there but many people recommend it.

Cohoes (falls, that is) is pretty cool after a major spring rainstorm when the water is pouring over the falls - an impressive sight if you time it right. There is a nice, simple, overlook that was built a few years ago. (You used to have to climb through trash & brambles to have a good view.