Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

Hawaii on Continental Airlines - reviews please?

Old Aug 8th, 2006, 09:50 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi. I am planning a business trip to Hawaii and have a choice of any airline I want. At the moment, the timings for Continental from Newark to Honolulu seem to be most convenient but I have never used Continental before and have concerns whether their flights are usually on time or delayed and the in-flight service / friendliness of the staff, etc. I did a search on this forum but did not find much of new posts from this year. Will appreciate any feedback people have on their experiences with Continental.

Thank you.
Old Aug 8th, 2006, 10:02 AM

I would recommend Continental over American. I flew Continental to Hawaii several years ago in coach and they do have free food. Well, a cheeseburger is better than nothing. American has food for purchase. Also, Continental had individual tv monitors in coach which does help the flight go a little faster. You may want to check www.airlinequality.com for more comments. You can also visit www.seatguru.com for configuration of seats. Not all seats are created equal.
Old Aug 8th, 2006, 10:05 AM

We have taken this flight several times, and it is now our families airline of choice to the east coast.

New planes, pretty nice FAs, decent food by airline standards, and NON-STOP to Hawaii.

The only flight that was delayed was the time I flew Newark-San Diego, then home to Hawaii after that.
Old Aug 8th, 2006, 11:18 AM

I've flown from DFW to HNL in First on American and the same class from EWR to HNL on CO...IMO the CO service was superior; better food and more attentive service although the service on AA was quite good.

Sorry, cannot comment on coach class.
Old Aug 8th, 2006, 11:20 AM