Great American Road Trip

Search

Great American Road Trip

Search this Thread

Old Apr 19th, 2005, 06:19 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Great American Road Trip

Has anyone driven across the country? What route did you take? How old were you? What kind of car was it? I'm tinkering with the idea myself and I'm contemplating the options. I'd be coming from Virginia and I'd like to end in New York or vice versa. Any thoughts?
Old Apr 19th, 2005, 07:18 AM

I was a truck driver for 2.5 years, and had done cross-country several times in a big rig. I've also driven a 95 Integra GS-R one-way from Rhode Island to Seattle; and roundtrip in a mildly modified 1998 Legacy GT from Connecticut to California to do time trial racing.

I've done I-10, 20, 30, 40, 70, 80 & 90 across the country. What I haven't driven is I-94 across the Northern plains and I-84 between Salt Lake City and Portland, OR. Otherwise, I've driven it most.

Are you thinking about driving from Virginia to the west coast and then back to NY? How much time do you have?
Old Apr 19th, 2005, 07:20 AM

Oops... I shouldn't have put down I-30. That's just a short interstate between Dallas and Little Rock, not a cross-country route. Sorry.
Old Apr 19th, 2005, 07:57 AM

Took 3 months out and left Atlanta in August a few years back, home to PA in October by way of Seattle, SF, Albuquerque etc. Drove an old Astro van which performed miraculously even on top of the highest peak in Yellowstone. I was in my late fifties at the time, and traveled by myself.

Went from Atlanta to Kentucky, to Chicago, to Milwaukee, to Minneapolis, to South Dakota, to Montana, to Idaho, to Seattle, down the coast through Oregon, San Francisco, Yellowstone, Santa Fe, St. Louis where I ran out of time and headed directly back to central PA. Stopped at various flea markets along the way (brought a load -- that's why the van) and pretty much bought and sold my way through the states.