Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

Driving from San Francisco to Canada - any tips?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 5th, 2004, 06:18 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm planning to drive from San Francisco up to Canada in September, over 2 weeks.

Is this too ambitious? I've never done this sort of holiday before so would welcome any tips or suggestions. There will be 3 of sharing the driving and we plan to stay in motels/hostels on the way.

Many thanks
Old Mar 5th, 2004, 06:23 AM

My first reaction was to fly. But truthfully, my daughter and I did this trip (both directions over 10 days a few years ago and had a great time.

There are lots of fun things to see and do along the way, depending on your interests. Highlights for us were the Elk in Prairie City, jet boats on the Rogue River, camping on the Columbia River and taking the river boat ride, hiking at Manultmah (sp?) Falls, touring the Bonneville Damn and fish ladders, and best of all... the ferry through the Puget Sound, from Seattle to Victoria. So beautiful!

We had no problem finding hotels and motels along the way. No need to plan too rigidly. Just know what's along the way and what you want to see.
Old Mar 5th, 2004, 06:34 AM

I'd suggest starting out along the coast north of San Francisco. Go to Point Reyes, up through Mendocino (way to go! Mendocino! for defeating the bioengineering move) to enjoy pristine coastal communities and giant redwoods.

Then cut inland to Crater Lake - great sight! I can't remember when the Ashland Shakespearan Festival is, but if it is in September, stop by in Ashland. Drive up Interstate 5 in Oregon to get a feel for the sunny side of the Coast Ranges. Stop in Portland.

Then, yes, the Columbia Gorge experience. Stop in Seattle.

Yes, the ferry from Seattle to Canada.

Then, glorious Vancouver! What a great city!