First time-snow trip

Search

First time-snow trip

Search this Thread

Old Feb 20th, 2007, 12:35 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
First time-snow trip

As a southern girl, I have never seen more than 10 inches of snow (once). I have never skied - but have always wanted to try. As a complete novice who may strap on those skis - fall - and head back to the lodge, where would be a good place to go and enjoy the weather, scenery, etc. but not ski? I have also wanted to try snow shoes (is that difficult?) and a snow mobile
Old Feb 20th, 2007, 12:53 PM

Try the Adirondack Mountains in New York State, beautiful in the summer and in the winter. Lake Placid or Lake George more specifically.
Old Feb 20th, 2007, 01:07 PM

How far are you willing to travel? As one who started skiing late (in my 20's), I'd say it is important to pick a place that is known for good teaching and good snow (not ice). Right now, many places out west (especially California) are lacking snow. Otherwise, I would suggest Badger Pass in Yosemite as a great place to start---nice begiinner terrain, and plenty to do if you don't care to ski. But right now that is not a good option. Farther north, Whistler offers fantastic skiing, has a record amount of snow this year, and lots of options, but it is expensive. The places suggested in New York state might be great; they just got tons of snow. Look into their "beginner" packages that offer lessons, rental equipment, and lift ticket all as a package.

Resign yourself to falling a few times while you are learning. It's doesn't hurt!

As for snowshoeing, you don't need lessons; just put them on and go. Make sure you are properly dressed so you don't get cold or wet, and have a good map of the trails. Some people like ski poles to help with balance, and for help in going uphill. Don't go alone. Many ski areas and national parks offer guided snowshoe walks, which would be a great way to start.

Old Feb 20th, 2007, 01:35 PM