First Time in Hawaii

Jan 15th, 2009, 10:10 AM
Original Poster

First Time in Hawaii

I am planning on using my almost expired FF Miles to go to Hawaii, but am not sure which Island or where to stay. It appears that there are a lot of great deals for lodging, but I have no experience with location. I can fly into Maui or the Big Island. I plan on staying about 8 or 9 days.

Does anyone have any suggestion on both where to and where not to stay?
I know it is a broad question, but at this point I am at the beginning of my search.
Jan 15th, 2009, 10:12 AM

Do some research here on Fodor's by using the search function above. There are tons of posts about Maui and the Big Island and Hawaii. Spend an hour reading them. Then come back and ask specific questions.
Jan 15th, 2009, 10:35 AM

I have to agree with Andrew.

We need much more info of your travel likes and dislikes.

Be a little more descriptive and I'm sure we can get you some useful information.

I have been traveling to Kauai almost every year since 1985 and have a file of our favs. if you'd like to have that, drop me an email and i can forward it to you.

Good luck with your plans.
Jan 15th, 2009, 10:39 AM

Aloha Willem46, it might be helpful to know what month you plan on visiting, to optimize your chance for a location with optimum likelihood of weather and milder ocean conditions.
Jan 15th, 2009, 01:26 PM

My first trip to Hawaii, I checked out a BIG pile of guidebooks from the library to try and learn about the different islands.
Jan 15th, 2009, 02:35 PM

My first time to Hawaii, I just got on the plane and went to Maui. It was wonderful. I've been hooked ever since.

Jan 15th, 2009, 02:59 PM
Original Poster